Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

O. Henry's Full House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This anthology film assembles five respected directors and a top-notch cast to bring a handful of stories by the great American author [[Performer~P217473~O. Henry~ohenry]] to the screen. In The Cop and the Anthem, a tramp named Soapy ([[Performer~P98862~Charles Laughton~charleslaughton]]) tries to get arrested so that he can spend the winter in jail, only to find that is not as easy as it used to be. [[Performer~P50065~Marilyn Monroe~marilynmonroe]] appears in this episode as a streetwalker. The Clarion Call features [[Performer~P60688~Dale Robertson~dalerobertson]] as Barney, a cop forced to arrest an old friend, Johnny ([[Performer~P76135~Richard Widmark~richardwidmark]]). [[Performer~P4663~Anne Baxter~annebaxter]] stars in The Last Leaf as Joanna, an elderly woman who sees her own illness reflected in the fall of the autumn leaves; she's convinced that when the last leaf drops from the tree outside her window, her life will go with it. The Ransom of Red Chief concerns Sam ([[Performer~P79366~Fred Allen~fredallen]]) and Bill ([[Performer~P99458~Oscar Levant~oscarlevant]]), two novice kidnappers who kidnap a child, only to discover that his parents don't want him back -- and after a few hours with the brat, they find out why. And The Gift of the Magi tells the story of a pair of cash-strapped newlyweds, Della ([[Performer~P15581~Jeanne Craine~jeannecrain]]) and Jim ([[Performer~P28174~Farley Granger~farleygranger]]), who struggle to get each other the perfect Christmas gift, with unexpected results. [[Performer~P67904~John Steinbeck~johnsteinbeck]] narrates. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Cast

Charles Laughton
as Soapy, The Cop and the Anthem
Marilyn Monroe
as Streetwalker, The Cop and the Anthem
Richard Widmark
as Johnny Kernan, The Clarion Call
David Wayne
as Horace, The Cop and the Anthem
Dale Robertson
as Barney Woods, The Clarion Call
Anne Baxter
as Joanna, The Last Leaf
Fred Allen
as Sam, The Ransom of the Red Chief
Joyce MacKenzie
as Hazel
Jeanne Crain
as Della, The Gift of the Magi
Richard Rober
as Chief of Detectives, The Clarion Call
Jean Peters
as Susan, The Last Leaf
Gregory Ratoff
as Behrman, The Last Leaf
Richard Garrick
as Doctor, The Last Leaf
Oscar Levant
as Bill, The Ransom of the Red Chief
Lee Aaker
as J.B.
Farley Granger
as Jim, The Gift of the Magi
Fred Kelsey
as Santa Claus, The Gift of the Magi
Robert Easton
as Yokel
Richard Karlan
as Headwaiter
Hal Smith
as Dandy
Robert Cherry
Fritz Feld
as Maurice
Phil Tully
as Guard
Erno Verebes
as Waiter
Tyler McVey
as O. Henry
Irving Bacon
as Mr. Dorset
Will Wright
as Manager
Norman Leavitt
as Yokel
Beverly Thompson
as Girl
Sig Rumann
as Menkie
Kathleen Freeman
as Mrs. Dorset (uncredited)
Steven Geray
as Radolf
Richard Hylton
as Bill
Philip Tonge
as Man with Umbrella
Warren Stevens
as Druggist
Billy Wayne
as Bystander
William Vedder
as Judge
Martha Wentworth
as Mrs. O'Brien
James Flavin
as Cop
Harry Hayden
as Mr. Crump
Stuart Randall
as Detective
Frank Jaquet
as Butcher
Ruth Warren
as Neighbor
Abe Dinovitch
as Bartender

Crew

Henry Koster
Director
Howard Hawks
Director
Henry Hathaway
Director
Henry King
Director
Jean Negulesco
Director
Nunnally Johnson
Screenwriter
Walter Bullock
Screenwriter
Lamar Trotti
Screenwriter
Milton Krasner
Cinematographer
Lucien Ballard
Cinematographer
Joe MacDonald
Cinematographer
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Nick De Maggio
Editor
Chester Gore
Art Director
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Addison Hehr
Art Director
Advertisement