Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Nurse Betty Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

After two acclaimed independent films in which he took a troubling look at male/female relations, director [[Performer~P222126~Neil LaBute~neillabute]] moves on to less controversial ground in this dark comedy. Betty Sizemore ([[Performer~P201027~Renee Zellweger~renéezellweger]]) is a woman from Kansas City who waits tables at a diner and is married to an insensitive thug named Del ([[Performer~P223098~Aaron Eckhart~aaroneckhart]]). One of Betty's few pleasures in life is the soap opera A Reason to Love. Her favorite character is handsome Dr. David Ravell, played by George McCord ([[Performer~P200274~Greg Kinnear~gregkinnear]]). One night, Del gets involved in a drug deal with a pair of gangsters, Charlie ([[Performer~P90514~Morgan Freeman~morganfreeman]]) and his sidekick Wesley ([[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]]). Del's thoughtless racial slurs lead to an arguement, and the short-tempered Wesley attacks him; Charlie is forced to kill Del, as Betty watches. Dazed and in shock, Betty hops into her car, deciding that the time is right for a date with destiny. Betty tracks down George McCord, and soon the soap's producer Lyla ([[Performer~P199091~Allison Janney~allisonjanney]]) is considering Betty for a part on A Reason to Love, not realizing that Betty doesn't want to play Dr. Ravell's nurse and fiance, she wants to be her. Betty, meanwhile, has no idea that the drugs that Del was trying to sell are still in her car, and that Charlie and Wesley are hot on her trail, determined to get the dope and silence her once and for all. Nurse Betty also features [[Performer~P116796~Kathleen Wilhoite~kathleenwilhoite]], [[Performer~P27277~Crispin Glover~crispinglover]], and [[Performer~P72961~Pruitt Taylor Vince~pruitttaylorvince]]. The film was shown in competition at the 2000 Cannes Film Festival, where it won the prize for Best Screenplay. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 8, 2000

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Renée Zellweger Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2000 Winner
Cannes Film Festival James Flamberg Best Screenplay 2000 Winner

Crew

Neil LaBute
Director
Steve Golin
Producer
Gail Mutrux
Producer
James Flamberg
Screenwriter
John C. Richards
Screen Story
John C. Richards
Screenwriter
Jean-Yves Escoffier
Cinematographer
Rolfe Kent
Composer (Music Score)
Joel Plotch
Editor
Steve Weisberg
Editor
Charles Breen
Production Designer
Gary Diamond
Art Director
W. Mark McNair
Associate Producer
Albert M. Shapiro
Associate Producer
Philip Steuer
Executive Producer
Chris Sievernich
Executive Producer
Moritz Borman
Executive Producer
Stephen Pevner
Executive Producer
Moritz Borman
Set Decorator
Felipe Borrero
Sound/Sound Designer
Heidi Levitt
Casting
Monika Mikkelsen
Casting
Advertisement