Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Notes on Marie Menken Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P48440~Marie Menken~mariemenken]] was an artist and experimental filmmaker who was a contemporary and confidante to many noted auteurs of the '60s, including [[Performer~P79721~Kenneth Anger~kennethanger]] (he helped her shoot her film [[Feature~V290683~Arabesque for Kenneth Anger~arabesqueforkennethanger]], while she appeared in [[Feature~V138019~Scorpio Rising~scorpiorising]]), [[Performer~P82773~Stan Brakhage~stanbrakhage]] (he was an outspoken supporter of her work) and [[Performer~P115970~Andy Warhol~andywarhol]] (she appears in [[Feature~V87082~The Chelsea Girls~thechelseagirls]] and supposedly coached him on working with movie equipment). While [[Performer~P48440~Menken~mariemenken]] never received the same acclaim among cineastes as the above-mentioned filmmakers, today she's considered an important and pioneering artist, and filmmaker [[Performer~P323650~Martina Kudlacek~martinakudlacek]] pays homage to the woman and her work in this documentary. Notes on Marie Menken includes clips from several of [[Performer~P48440~Menken~mariemenken]]'s films, as well as interviews with [[Performer~P79721~Kenneth Anger~kennethanger]], [[Performer~P363774~Billy Name~billyname]], [[Performer~P117342~Mary Woronov~maryworonov]], [[Performer~P102408~Jonas Mekas~jonasmekas]], and others who knew her; filmmaker [[Performer~P323650~Kudlacek~martinakudlacek]] also examines how [[Performer~P48440~Menken~mariemenken]]'s work has impacted her own creative vision. Notes on Marie Menken received its North American premier at the 2006 Tribeca Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:February 9, 2007

Crew

Martina Kudlacek
Director
Martina Kudlacek
Producer
John Zorn
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Hills
Editor
Judy Karp
Sound/Sound Designer
Martina Kudlacek
Camera Operator
Joerg Burger
Camera Operator
Wolfgang Lehner
Camera Operator
Jonas Mekas
Additional Cinematography
Advertisement