Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Northwest Outpost Details


Backed by the "American GI Chorus", Nelson Eddy made his final screen appearance in the unusually elaborate Republic musical Northwest Outpost. The story is set in the 1830s, when a good portion of California was owned by Russia. US cavalry officer James Laurence (Nelson Eddy) arrives at one of the Russian colonies to pave the way for the eventual American takeover of the territory. He faces resistance in the form of Prince Nikolai Balinin (Hugo Haas), who has no intention of weakening his despotic hold over the local peasants. The plot thickens when Laurence falls in love with Natalie Alanova (Ilona Massey), the wife of disgraced nobleman Count Igor Savin (Joseph Schildkraut). The script draws several unsubtle parallels between Russian California of 1830 and Communist Russia of 1947, but this can be chalked up to the political tenor of the times. Rudolf Friml's soaring musical score evokes fond memories of Friml's earlier [[Feature~V42125~Rose Marie~rosemarie]], which of course also starred Nelson Eddy. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Nelson Eddy
as Capt. James Laurence
Ilona Massey
as Natalia Alanova
Joseph Schildkraut
as Count Igor Savin
Elsa Lanchester
as Princess "Tanya" Tatiana
Peter Whitney
as Volkoff Overseer
Erno Verebes
as Kyril Balinin's Aide
George Sorel
as Baron Kruposny
Rick Vallin
as Dovkin
Ray Teal
as Wounded Trapper
Michael Mark
as Small Convict
Michael Visaroff
as Capt. Tikhonoff
George Paris
as Ship's Officer
Constantine Romanoff
as Convict
Dina Smirnova
Max Willenz
as Peasant
Henry Kulky
as Peasant
Richard Alexander
as Large Convict
Henry Brandon
as Chinese Junk Captain
Muni Seroff
Jay Silverheels
as Indian Scout
Hugo Haas
as Prince Nickolai Balinin
John Bleifer
as Groom
Abe Dinovitch
as Rough Man
Nina Hansen
as Princess Tatiana's Maid


Allan Dwan
Allan Dwan
Herbert J. Yates
Elizabeth Meehan
Richard Sale
Laird Doyle
Reggie Lanning
Robert Armbruster
Musical Direction/Supervision
Rudolf Friml
Composer (Music Score)
Harry Keller
Hilyard M. Brown
Art Director
John McCarthy
Set Designer
Adele Palmer
Costume Designer
Howard Lydecker
Special Effects
Theodore Lydecker
Special Effects
Bob Mark