Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

No Looking Back Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Writer-director-actor [[Performer~P9698~Edward Burns~edwardburns]] ([[Feature~V133593~The Brothers McMullen~thebrothersmcmullen]], [[Feature~V136512~She's the One~shestheone]]) looks at small-town ex-lovers in this low-key, blue-collar drama with atmospheric, muted-color cinematography by Emmy-winner [[Performer~P107117~Frank Prinzi~frankprinzi]] ([[Feature~V35670~Northern Exposure~northernexposure:pilot]]). To the tune of [[Performer~P234845~Sheryl Crow~sherylcrow]]'s "Home", Charlie (Burns) returns to his quiet seaboard hometown to win back his ex-girlfriend Claudia ([[Performer~P32946~Lauren Holly~laurenholly]]), whom he abandoned three years earlier. He quickly learns that she's now engaged to Michael ([[Performer~P7184~Jon Bon Jovi~jonbonjovi]]), his best buddy since elementary school. Claudia has a dull job as a waitress at a slow-paced diner, while Michael repairs autos at a local garage. Michael loves her, but Charlie's return forces her to re-examine her life. Burns commented, "I wanted to do a drama about a working-class community, about the kind of people I grew up with, and take a look at what their lives are like as they hit their 30s and start to put their adolescent dreams aside. Their old hopes and dreams get rekindled, so they try and go for it one more time. And in the end they discover that you can't relive your past." Songs relate literally to the onscreen action, with tunes by Lynryd Skynryd, [[Performer~P10498~Glen Campbell~glencampbell]], Pete Yorn, Georges Gasguy & Saveur Mallia, [[Performer~P28377~Macy Gray~mackgray]], Patti Scialfa, [[Performer~P112381~Bruce Springsteen~brucespringsteen]], Local H, Sponge, and the [[Performer~P113931~Allman Brothers~thebrotherskendall]]. Filmed on location during the off-season at Rockaway Beach, Queens, not far from New York's JFK Airport. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1900

Crew

Edward Burns
Director
Edward Burns
Producer
Michael Nozik
Producer
Ted Hope
Producer
Edward Burns
Screenwriter
Frank Prinzi
Cinematographer
Susan Graef
Editor
Therese DePrez
Production Designer
Robert Redford
Executive Producer
John Sloss
Executive Producer
Diane Lederman
Set Designer
Sara Jane Slotnick
Costume Designer
Mathew Price
Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Patrick
First Assistant Director
Laura Rosenthal
Casting
Alysse Bezahler
Line Producer
Advertisement