Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

No Down Payment Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A handful of suburban couples discover that emotional turmoil lurks behind the placid exterior of the planned community of Sunrise Hills in this drama based on the novel by [[Performer~P162986~John McPartland~johnmcpartland]]. David and Jean Martin ([[Performer~P34017~Jeffrey Hunter~jeffreyhunter]] and [[Performer~P54528~Patricia Owens~patriciaowens]]) find their relationship starting to crumble after Jean is raped by Troy Boone ([[Performer~P49649~Cameron Mitchell~cameronmitchell]]), an alcoholic war veteran who has been unable to readjust to civilian life. Meanwhile, Troy's wife, Leola ([[Performer~P117305~Joanne Woodward~joannewoodward]]), wants to start a family, but Troy isn't interested in having children. Jerry Flagg ([[Performer~P58720~Tony Randall~tonyrandall]]) is a used car salesman who turns to drink to deal with the disappointments of his career and his life, which is more than his wife, Isabelle ([[Performer~P53046~Sheree North~shereenorth]]), bargained for in their relationship. And Herman Kreitzer ([[Performer~P32458~Pat Hingle~pathingle]]) is the good-hearted proprietor of a hardware store who wants to help his Japanese-American assistant Iko ([[Performer~P788~Aki Aleong~akialeong]]) find a new home. Though Herman's wife, Betty ([[Performer~P9847~Barbara Rush~barbararush]]), discourages him because of the reaction that she foresees from the rest of the community, she eventually sides with him and joins him in the effort to help Iko assimilate. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Joanne Woodward Best Actress 1957 Winner

Cast

Joanne Woodward
as Leola Boone
Tony Randall
as Jerry Flagg
Jeffrey Hunter
as David Martin
Sheree North
as Isabelle Flagg
Cameron Mitchell
as Troy Boone
Patricia Owens
as Jean Martin
Barbara Rush
as Betty Kreitzer
Pat Hingle
as Herman Kreitzer
Robert Harris
as Markham
Aki Aleong
as Iko
Jim Hayward
as Mr. Burton
Mimi Gibson
as Sandra Kreitzer
Donald Towers
as Harmon Kreitzer
Charles Herbert
as Michael Flagg
Nolan Leary
as Reverend

Crew

Martin Ritt
Director
Jerry Wald
Producer
John McPartland
Book Author
Ben Maddow
Screenwriter
Philip Yordan
Screenwriter
Joseph La Shelle
Cinematographer
Lionel Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Leigh Harline
Composer (Music Score)
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Herman A. Blumenthal
Art Director
Eli Dunn
First Assistant Director
Advertisement