Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Night Shift Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Straight-laced [[Performer~P117062~Henry Winkler~henrywinkler]] takes a night-shift job as a morgue attendant. Winkler falls under the spell of wheeler-dealer coworker [[Performer~P37277~Michael Keaton~michaelkeaton]], whose catchphrase "Is this a great country or what?" is the clarion call for his many get-rich-quick schemes. His latest plan is to turn the morgue into a nocturnal brothel, for the benefit of anything-goes hooker [[Performer~P43119~Shelley Long~shelleylong]]-and incidentally, to line their own pockets. Director [[Performer~P94983~Ron Howard~ronhoward]] and his frequent scripters [[Performer~P90983~Lowell Ganz~lowellganz]] and [[Performer~P100987~Babaloo Mandel~babaloomandel]] turn the potentially lurid story material of Night Shift into an endearing comedy, with winning performances from its three often miscast stars. Keep an eye out during one of the party sequences for [[Performer~P15189~Kevin Costner~kevincostner]] as a carousing college boy. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Henry Winkler Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1982 Nominee

Cast

Henry Winkler
as Chuck Lumley
Michael Keaton
as Bill Blazejowski
Shelley Long
as Belinda Keaton
Gina Hecht
as Charlotte Koogle
Pat Corley
as Edward Koogle
Bobby Di Cicco
as Leonard
Nita Talbot
as Vivian
Basil Hoffman
as Drollhauser
Clint Howard
as Jefferey
Joe Spinell
as Manetti
Badja Djola
as Cleon
Kevin Costner
as Frat Boy
Kevin Rodney Sullivan
Marc Flanagan
as Steve
Jane Jenkins
James Ritz
as Morgue Worker
Floyd Levine
as Sal Carboni
Jim Staahl
as Red
Reid Cruickshanks
as Sgt. Averbach
Cassandra Gava
as J.J.
Mimi Lieber
as Linda
Robbin Young
as Nancy
Shannen Doherty
as Bluebird
Brett Baxter Clark
as Paradise Doorman
John Boyle
as Leopard Boy
Leonard Termo
Richard Belzer
as Pig
Julius Le Flore
as Franklin
Corki Corman
as Sylvia
Hugo Napier
as Blind Man
Grand L. Bush
as Mustafa
Cheryl Carter
as Tanya
Horace Long
as Turkey Man
Monique Gabrielle
as Tessie
Russell Forte
as Frat Boy #3
Dawn Dunlap
as Maxine
Jeanne Mori
as Marsha
Ola Ray
as Dawn
Beau Billingslea
as Donny
Vincent Schiavelli
as Carl
Jim Greenleaf
as Frat Boy #4
Ava Lazar
as Sharon
Becky Gonzalez
as Lupe
Charles Fleischer
as Prisoner
Jeremy Lawrence
as Frat Boy
Elizabeth Carder
as Dolores

Crew

Ron Howard
Director
Brian Grazer
Producer
Lowell Ganz
Screenwriter
Babaloo Mandel
Screenwriter
Lee Reynolds
Screenwriter
Chris Columbus
Screenwriter
Burt Bacharach
Composer (Music Score)
Don Kranze
Executive Producer
Gary Combs
Stunts
Advertisement