Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Night Train to Munich Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P30718~Rex Harrison~rexharrison]] astonished his fans by donning a Nazi uniform in the British suspenser Night Train (originally titled Night Train to Munich). Actually he's a British agent, working undercover to rescue a Czech inventor from the Gestapo. The inventor's daughter ([[Performer~P42904~Margaret Lockwood~margaretlockwood]]) becomes the unwitting pawn of a genuine Nazi ([[Performer~P94057~Paul von Hernreid~paulhenreid]], just before he became [[Performer~P94057~Paul Henreid~paulhenreid]]) during a long train ride from Germany to France and back again. Director [[Performer~P107778~Carol Reed~carolreed]] never denied that his inspiration for Night Train was [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]]'s [[Feature~V28077~The Lady Vanishes~theladyvanishes]] (both films were written by [[Performer~P98857~Frank Launder~franklaunder]] and [[Performer~P91579~Sidney Gilliat~sidneygilliat]]). The homage was solidified by the presence in Night Train of two carryovers from the [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] film: those ardent British cricket fans Charters and Caldicott ([[Performer~P58407~Basil Radford~basilradford]] and [[Performer~P75100~Naunton Wayne~nauntonwayne]]). Night Train was liberally adapted from the [[Performer~P116369~Gordon Wellesley~gordonwellesley]] novel Report on a Fugitive. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:August 31, 1940

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gordon Wellesley Best Original Story 1941 Nominee

Cast

Margaret Lockwood
as Anna Bomasch
Rex Harrison
as Gus Bennett
Paul Henreid
as Karl Marsen
Basil Radford
as Charters
Naunton Wayne
as Caldicott
James Harcourt
as Axel Bomasch
Felix Aylmer
as Dr. John Fredericks
Wyndham Goldie
as Dryton
Roland Culver
as Roberts
Eliot Makeham
as Schwab
Raymond Huntley
as Kampenfeldt
Austin Trevor
as Capt. Prada
Morland Graham
as Attendant
John Wengraf
as Concentration Camp Doctor
Ian Fleming
as Brit. Intelligence Official
Wally Patch
as Pier Fisherman
Torin Thatcher
Irene Handl

Crew

Carol Reed
Director
Edward Black
Producer
Sidney Gilliat
Screenwriter
Gordon Wellesley
Screen Story
Frank Launder
Screenwriter
Louis Levy
Musical Direction/Supervision
Louis Levy
Composer (Music Score)
Advertisement