Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

A Night to Remember Details


This meticulous re-creation of the sinking of the Titanic was adapted by Eric Ambler from the best-selling book by Walter Lord, and it preceded the blockbuster by almost 40 years. The film covers the life and death of the huge vessel from its launching celebration to that fateful night of April 14, 1912, when the "unsinkable" ship struck an iceberg in the North Atlantic. Of the 2224 passengers on board, 1513 were drowned as a result of the bad planning of lifeboats and escape routes. Kenneth More heads a huge and stellar cast, with 200 speaking parts, as second officer Herbert Lightoller, from whose point-of-view the story unfolds. Also in the cast are Laurence Naismith as the ill-fated Captain Smith; Michael Goodliffe as conscience-stricken ship's designer Thomas Andrews; Tucker McGuire as feisty American millionaire Molly Brown, whose courage and tenacity saved many lives; and Anthony Bushell as the captain of the Carpathia, who launched a noble but vain rescue mission once he was apprised of the disaster. Also appearing are two future TV favorites: The Avengers' Honor Blackman as a woman who believes that she has nothing to live for, and The Man From UNCLE's David McCallum as a wireless operator. The climactic sinking of the vessel is re-created with painstaking accuracy; filmed in "real time," it is a mere 37 minutes shorter than the actual tragedy. Two years before the film's release, an American TV adaptation of A Night to Remember set a precedent as the most elaborate and technically complex "live" broadcast of its time. Some viewers will find this movie a more accurate and gripping representation of this sea disaster than the romance-heavy . ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Kenneth More
as Herbert Lightoller
Honor Blackman
as Mrs. Lucas
Anthony Bushell
as Capt. Rostron
Ronald Allen
as Clarke
Robert Ayres
as Peuchen
Jane Downs
as Mrs. Lightoller
Jill Dixon
as Mrs. Clarke
James Dyrenforth
as Col. Gracie
Kenneth Griffith
as Phillips
Michael Goodliffe
as Thomas Andrews
Frank Lawton
as Chairman
Richard Leech
as William Murdoch
David McCallum
as Bride
Alec McCowen
as Cottam
Tucker McGuire
as Mrs. Brown
Laurence Naismith
as Capt.Edward J. Smith
Russell Napier
as Capt. Lord
George Rose
as Joughin
Jack Watling
as Boxall
Bee Duffell
as Mrs. Farrell
Patrick Waddington
as Sir Richard
Christina Lubicz
as Polish Girl
Patrick McAlinney
as Farrell
Andrew Keir
as Engineer Officer Hesketh
Harold Goldblatt
as Benjamin Guggenheim
Tom Naylor
Redmond Phillips
as Hoyle
Howard Pays
as Lowe
Gerald Harper
as 3rd Officer, Carpathia
Ralph Michael
as Yates
Harold Siddons
as Stone
Julian Somers
as Bull
Alan Frank
John Richardson
Geoffrey Bayldon
as Evans
Meier Tzelniker
as Straus
Thomas Heathcote
Cyril Chamberlain
as Q.M. Rowe
John Cairney
as Murphy
Marianne Stone
as Stewardess No. 2
Eddie Malin
as Steward
Barry MacGregor
as Gibson
Joseph Tomelty
as Dr. O'Loughlin


Roy Ward Baker
Walter Lord
Book Author
Eric Ambler
Geoffrey Unsworth
William Alwyn
Composer (Music Score)
Muir Mathieson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Sidney Hayers
Yvonne Caffin
Costume Designer
Bill Warrington
Special Effects
Robert Asher
First Assistant Director
Jack Hanbury
Production Manager