Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Nickelodeon Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P82288~Peter Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]]'s early career as a film writer stood him in good stead for this comedy drama about the early days of the motion-picture industry, based in part on his interviews with pioneering directors [[Performer~P115880~Raoul Walsh~raoulwalsh]] and [[Performer~P20865~Allan Dwan~allandwan]]. Leo Harrigan ([[Performer~P53567~Ryan O'Neal~ryanoneal]]) is a lawyer and Buck Greenway ([[Performer~P108069~Burt Reynolds~burtreynolds]]) is a cowboy and gunman. Both are sent to California to shut down a renegade group of silent-movie makers -- financed by blustery H.H. Cobb ([[Performer~P37385~Brian Keith~briankeith]]) -- who are in violation of the Motion Picture Patents Co. Trust. Harrigan and Greenway somehow find themselves working with the movie crew instead of shutting them down; they join forces with cameraman Franklin Frank ([[Performer~P60400~John Ritter~johnritter]]), leading lady Kathleen Cooke ([[Performer~P32536~Jane Hitchcock~janehitchcock]]), and precocious prop girl Alice Forsyte ([[Performer~P53569~Tatum O'Neal~tatumoneal]]). Greenway becomes a star and Harrigan a respected director, but both battle over the affections of Cooke. Incidentally, Cobb's big speech near the end is taken almost verbatim from a quote given to [[Performer~P82288~Bogdanovich~peterbogdanovich]] in an interview with actor [[Performer~P68236~James Stewart~jamesstewart]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 21, 1976
Advertisement