Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The New World Details


Terrence Malick, the universally acclaimed American filmmaker responsible for the key 1970s features Terrence Malick and Terrence Malick, returns for a rare directorial outing with the sweeping period piece The New World -- an epic dramatization of Pocahontas' relationships with John Smith and John Rolfe. Malick's story opens at the dawn of the 17th century, just prior to the colonization of the United States -- when the North American population consisted of an interconnected series of native tribes. In April 1607, three maritime vessels approach the unfamiliar continent, with 103 sailors on board. As members of the Virginia Company, these adventurers carry a royal charter to mount a society on the edge of the new continent. John Smith (Colin Farrell) sits chained below one of the decks. He is a 27-year-old loose cannon, who, for his persistently rebellious acts, has been sentenced to death by hanging as soon as the ships dock. Nevertheless, Captain Christopher Newport (Christopher Plummer) acknowledges Smith's ability to aid with exploration and consents to pardon him as a result. Upon landing, Smith seeks assistance from local Native American tribes with colonization, but runs into the unexpected -- he falls desperately in love with Pocahontas, or "Playful One" (Q'orianka Kilcher), the daughter of the omnipotent Chief Powhatan (August Schellenberg). Needless to say, this does not sit well with Powhatan or the rest of the tribe. Moreover, the oft-bellicose Smith enters a head-to-head conflict with his fellow Britons when he finds his tempestuousness calmed by the tranquility of the new landscape, as the anger and violence of his shipmates concurrently build in the face of the Native Americans. Later, Smith temporarily returns to England; believing that Smith is dead, Pocahontas accepts the hand of plantation owner John Rolfe in marriage (with her father's blessing) and follows Rolfe back to the old country. When Smith returns to America, his intended is nowhere to be seen, and the entire community teeters on the brink of a British-Indian war. Malick shot the production on location in Virginia; it co-stars Jonathan Pryce, John Savage, and David Thewlis. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 2005


Awarded by
Online Film Critics Association James Horner Best Score 2005 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association James Horner Best Score 2005 Nominee
National Board of Review Q'orianka Kilcher Breakthrough Performance by an Actress 2005 Winner
Online Film Critics Association Q'orianka Kilcher Breakthrough Performer 2005 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Q'orianka Kilcher Best Young Actress 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Q'orianka Kilcher Most Promising Performer 2005 Nominee
National Society of Film Critics Emmanuel Lubezki Best Cinematography (Runner-up) 2005 Winner
Online Film Critics Association Emmanuel Lubezki Best Cinematography 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Emmanuel Lubezki Best Cinematography 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Emmanuel Lubezki Best Cinematography 2005 Nominee


Colin Farrell
as John Smith
Q'orianka Kilcher
as Pocahontas
Christopher Plummer
as Capt. Christopher Newport
Christian Bale
as John Rolfe
August Schellenberg
as Chief Powhatan
Wes Studi
as Opechancanough
David Thewlis
as Capt. Edward Wingfield
Yorick Van Wageningen
as Captain Argall
Ben Mendelsohn
as Ben
Raoul Trujillo
as Tomocomo
Brian F. O'Byrne
as Lewes
Irene Bedard
as Pocahontas' Mother
John Savage
as Savage
Jamie Harris
as Emery
Alex Rice
as Patawomeck's Wife
Michael Greyeyes
as Rupwew
Kalani Queypo
as Parahunt
Noah Taylor
as Selway
Jonathan Pryce
as King James
Alexandra Malick
as Queen Anne


Terrence Malick
Sarah Green
Terrence Malick
Emmanuel Lubezki
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Chew
Saar Klein
Mark Yoshikawa
Hank Corwin
Jack Fisk
Production Designer
Sarah Hauldren
Art Director
David Crank
Art Director
Ivan Bess
Associate Producer
Sandhya Shardanand
Associate Producer
Billy Weber
Associate Producer
Mark Ordesky
Executive Producer
Rolf Mittweg
Executive Producer
Toby Emmerich
Executive Producer
Bill Mechanic
Executive Producer
Trish Hofmann
Executive Producer
Jim Erickson
Set Decorator
Jacqueline West
Costume Designer
Jose Antonio Garcia
Sound/Sound Designer
Craig Berkey
Sound/Sound Designer
Rene Haynes
Kathleen Driscoll-Mohler
Francine Maisler
Skip Lievsay
Supervising Sound Editor
Paul Engelen
Andy Cheng
Second Unit Director
Andy Cheng
Stunts Coordinator