Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

National Lampoon's Animal House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P98623~John Landis~johnlandis]] put himself on the map with this low-budget, fabulously successful comedy, which made a then-astounding 62 million dollars and started a slew of careers for its cast in the process. National Lampoon's Animal House is set in 1962 on the campus of Faber College in Faber, PA. The first glimpse we get of the campus is the statue of its founder Emil Faber, on the base of which is inscribed the motto, "Knowledge Is Good." Incoming freshmen Larry "Pinto" Kroger ([[Performer~P33864~Tom Hulce~tomhulce]]) and Kent "Flounder" Dorfman ([[Performer~P25396~Stephen Furst~stephenfurst]]) find themselves rejected by the pretentious Omega fraternity, and instead pledge to Delta House. The Deltas are a motley fraternity of rejects and maladjusted undergraduates (some approaching their late twenties) whose main goal -- seemingly accomplished in part by their mere presence on campus -- is disrupting the staid, peaceful, rigidly orthodox, and totally hypocritical social order of the school, as represented by the Omegas and the college's dean, Vernon Wormer ([[Performer~P73373~John Vernon~johnvernon]]). Dean Wormer decides that this is the year he's going to get the Deltas expelled and their chapter decertified; he places the fraternity on "double secret probation" and, with help from Omega president Greg Marmalard ([[Performer~P17106~James Daughton~jamesdaughton]]) and hard-nosed member Doug Neidermeyer ([[Performer~P48696~Mark Metcalf~markmetcalf]]), starts looking for any pretext on which to bring the members of the Delta fraternity up on charges. The Deltas, oblivious to the danger they're in, are having a great time, steeped in irreverence, mild debauchery, and occasional drunkenness, led by seniors Otter ([[Performer~P101693~Tim Matheson~timmatheson]]), Hoover ([[Performer~P76123~James Widdoes~jameswiddoes]]), D-Day ([[Performer~P47434~Bruce McGill~brucemcgill]]), Boon ([[Performer~P59459~Peter Riegert~peterriegert]]), and pledge master John "Bluto" Blutarsky ([[Performer~P5234~John Belushi~johnbelushi]]). They're given enough rope to hang themselves, but even then manage to get into comical misadventures on a road trip (where they arrange an assignation with a group of young ladies from Emily Dickinson University). Finally, they are thrown out of school, and, as a result, stripped of their student deferments (and, thus, eligible for the draft). They decide to commit one last, utterly senseless (and screamingly funny) slapstick act of rebellion, making a shambles of the university's annual homecoming parade, and, in the process, getting revenge on the dean, the Omegas, and everyone else who has ever gone against them. ~ Bruce Eder, Rovi

  • Release date:November 3, 2009

Cast

John Belushi
as John "Bluto" Blutarsky
Tim Matheson
as Eric "Otter" Stratton
John Vernon
as Dean Vernon Wormer
Verna Bloom
as Marion Wormer
Tom Hulce
as Larry "Pinto" Kroger
Stephen Furst
as Kent "Flounder" Dorfman
Cesare Danova
as Mayor Carmine DePasto
Donald Sutherland
as Prof. Dave Jennings
James Daughton
as Greg Marmalard
Bruce McGill
as Daniel Simpson "D-Day" Day
Mark Metcalf
as Doug Neidermeyer
DeWayne Jessie
as Otis Day
Karen Allen
as Katy
James Widdoes
as Robert Hoover
Sarah Holcomb
as Clorette DePasto
Kevin Bacon
as Chip Diller
Peter Riegert
as Donald "Boon" Schoenstein
Douglas Kenney
as Stork
Helen Vick
as Sorority Girl
Robert Cray
as (uncredited) Bandmember, Otis Day and the Knights
John Landis
Robert Irvin Elliott
as Meaner Dude
Eliza Garrett
as Brunella
Otis Day

Crew

John Landis
Director
Ivan Reitman
Producer
Matty Simmons
Producer
Harold Ramis
Screenwriter
Douglas Kenney
Screenwriter
John Hughes
Screenwriter
Philip H. Lathrop
Cinematographer
Elmer Bernstein
Composer (Music Score)
Sam Cooke
Featured Music
George Folsey, Jr.
Editor
Peter V. Herald
Co-producer
Anne McCulley
Set Designer
Jean-Pierre Dorleac
Costume Designer
Deborah Nadoolman
Costume Designer
William B. Kaplan
Sound/Sound Designer
Bill Varney
Sound/Sound Designer
Bill Randall
Sound/Sound Designer
Robert P. Cohen
First Assistant Director
Steve Yaconelli
Camera Operator
Bud Ekins
Stunts
Gary McLarty
Stunts
Jim Halty
Stunts
Michael Chinich
Casting
Gary McLarty
Second Unit Director
Gary McLarty
Stunts Coordinator
Lynn Brooks
Makeup
Gerald Soucie
Makeup
Advertisement