Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Namesake Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A couple coming to terms with living in a new culture discover their troubles are compounded by their son in this drama from filmmaker [[Performer~P103995~Mira Nair~miranair]]. Ashoke ([[Performer~P296601~Irfan Khan~irfankhan]]) and Ashima ([[Performer~P226474~Tabu~tabu]]) are a young couple who are brought together in an arranged marriage and soon leave Calcutta to seek their fortune in America. As the couple becomes accustomed to one another, they learn to deal with the coolness and superficiality of life in New York, even as they revel in the opportunities the city offers them. Before long, Ashima gives birth to a baby boy, and pressed to choose a name, they dub the infant Nikhil, though he soon picks up the nickname Gogol, after Ashoke's favorite author. By the time the child is old enough to attend school, he insists upon being called Gogol at all times, and he displays little interest in his Indian heritage. Several years on, Gogol has decided he wants to be called Nick (and is now played by [[Performer~P283322~Kal Penn~kalpenn]]) and has become a thoroughly Americanized teenager, openly rebelling against his parents, smoking marijuana in his room, and dating Maxine ([[Performer~P263911~Jacinda Barrett~jacindabarrett]]), a preppy blonde from a wealthy family. Ashoke and Ashima are uncertain about how to deal with their son's attempts to cut himself off from their culture, but Nick begins expressing some uncertainty himself when he meets Moushumi ([[Performer~P275254~Zuleikha Robinson~zuleikharobinson]]), a beautiful girl who also comes from a family of Indian expatriates. The Namesake was adapted from the bestselling novel by [[Performer~P426254~Jhumpa Lahiri~jhumpalahiri]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 9, 2007

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Irfan Khan Best Supporting Male 2007 Nominee

Cast

Kal Penn
as Gogol Ganguli
Tabu
as Ashima
Irfan Khan
as Ashoke
Jacinda Barrett
as Maxine
Zuleikha Robinson
as Moushumi Mazumdar
Gretchen Egolf
as Astrid
Pallavi Shah
as Kajol Mashi

Crew

Mira Nair
Director
Mira Nair
Producer
Lydia Dean Pilcher
Producer
Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Author
Sooni Taraporevala
Screenwriter
Linda Cohen
Musical Direction/Supervision
Nitin Sawhney
Composer (Music Score)
Stephanie Carroll
Production Designer
Tanmoy Chakroborty
Art Director
Suttirat Anne Larlarb
Art Director
Yukie Kito
Co-producer
Zarina Screwvala
Co-producer
Lori Keith Douglas
Co-producer
Dinaz Stafford
Associate Producer
Ronnie Screwvala
Executive Producer
Yasushi Kotani
Executive Producer
Taiso Son
Executive Producer
Arjun Bhasin
Costume Designer
Lydia Marks
Set Decorator
Sharmishtha Roy
Set Decorator
Ed Novick
Sound/Sound Designer
Dylan Gray
First Assistant Director
Michael Decasper
First Assistant Director
Tess Joseph
Casting
Cindy Tolan
Casting
Advertisement