Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Mystery Men Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Can seven not-so-superheroes save a city of the future? Based on the comic book series created by Bob Burden, Mystery Men is set in the teeming metropolis of Champion City, where noble superhero Captain Amazing ([[Performer~P200274~Greg Kinnear~gregkinnear]]) keeps the peace and sees that justice is done. When Captain Amazing mysteriously disappears, his archenemy Casanova Frankenstein ([[Performer~P151418~Geoffrey Rush~geoffreyrush]]) sees his opportunity to seize power and bend the city to his evil will, with his associate Dr. Annabel Leek ([[Performer~P53961~Lena Olin~lenaolin]]) at his side. However, Casanova will not succeed without a fight, as the The Mystery Men leap into action. The Mystery Men are not your ordinary Men of Steel; in fact, they're barely superheroes at all. Mr. Furious ([[Performer~P112816~Ben Stiller~benstiller]]) has one gift: throwing tantrums. Blue Raja ([[Performer~P3056~Hank Azaria~hankazaria]]) is a deadly hand with spoons and forks (but not knives). Shoveler ([[Performer~P44480~William H. Macy~williamhmacy]]) can dig with superior speed and force. The Bowler (Janeane Garafalo) rolls the ball with superhuman precision. Spleen ([[Performer~P108024~Paul Reubens~paulreubens]]) has a gaseous problem that he's turned into a weapon against evildoers. Invisible Boy ([[Performer~P228573~Kel Mitchell~kelmitchell]]) is convinced he can become invisible at will, but he hasn't actually done it yet. And The Sphinx ([[Performer~P68861~Wes Studi~wesstudi]]) does have an unusual power: he can cut metal objects with his mind. Aided by addled gadget master Dr. Heller ([[Performer~P115730~Tom Waits~tomwaits]]), the Mystery Men make their move against Casanova and Annabel, who feel just threatened enough to make things personal by kidnapping Mr. Furious' girlfriend Monica ([[Performer~P195968~Claire Forlani~claireforlani]]). Mystery Men marked the feature directorial debut of [[Performer~P270520~Kinka Usher~kinkausher]], who previously directed such ads as the Taco Bell talking chihuahua and the Dairy Association's "Got Milk?" ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 22, 1999

Cast

Ben Stiller
as Mr. Furious
Hank Azaria
as Blue Raja
William H. Macy
as Shoveler
Paul Reubens
as Spleen
Janeane Garofalo
as The Bowler
Kel Mitchell
as Invisible Boy
Wes Studi
as The Sphinx
Greg Kinnear
as Captain Amazing
Geoffrey Rush
as Casanova Frankenstein
Claire Forlani
as Monica
Tom Waits
as Dr. Heller
Eddie Izzard
as Tony Pompadour
Lena Olin
as Dr. Annabel Leek
Ricky Jay
as Vic Weems
Louise Lasser
as Violet
Sung Kang
as Susie

Crew

Kinka Usher
Director
Mike Richardson
Producer
Lawrence Gordon
Producer
Lloyd Levin
Producer
Neil Cuthbert
Screenwriter
Stephen H. Burum
Cinematographer
Karyn Rachtman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Stephen Warbeck
Composer (Music Score)
Conrad Buff
Editor
Kirk M. Petruccelli
Production Designer
Barry Chusid
Art Director
Steven Gilder
Co-producer
Victor Zolfo
Set Designer
Marilyn Vance
Costume Designer
Douglas B. Arnold
Sound/Sound Designer
Jeffrey Wetzel
First Assistant Director
Mario Roberts
Stunts
Mindy Marin
Casting
Alex Funke
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Lori J. Nelson
Visual Effects Supervisor
Advertisement