Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

My Favorite Year Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In [[Performer~P81388~Richard Benjamin~richardbenjamin]]'s directorial debut, [[Performer~P42587~Mark Linn-Baker~marklinnbaker]] stars as Benjy Stone, junior writer on the popular 1950s TV comedy/variety series The King Kaiser Show. Kaiser ([[Performer~P7154~Joseph Bologna~josephbologna]])'s guest star this week is Hollywood matinee idol Alan Swann ([[Performer~P53681~Peter O'Toole~peterotoole]]), a swashbuckling [[Performer~P90030~Errol Flynn~errolflynn]] type, right down to his indiscriminate womanizing and fondness for mass quantities of booze. Stone is assigned to keep the actor out of trouble during rehearsals and deliver him sober to the performance. Becoming fast friends, Stone and Swann alternate baby-sitting responsibilities: Swann takes the young writer to the Stork Club and on an early-morning jaunt through Central Park with a "borrowed" police horse, while Stone takes Swann to his home, where the star is fawned over by Benji's mom ([[Performer~P37216~Lainie Kazan~lainiekazan]]) and asked embarrassing questions about his love life by Uncle Morty ([[Performer~P34896~Lou Jacobi~loujacobi]]). Despite a few anxious moments, all goes well until Swann, panicking at the discovery that King Kaiser's show will be telecast live and not on film, walks out just before airtime. Shamed by Benjy into honoring his committment, Swann makes a spectacular, timber-smashing entrance, saving the show and rescuing Kaiser from being rubbed out by a gangster ([[Performer~P49649~Cameron Mitchell~cameronmitchell]]) whom the comedian has offended. The film co-stars [[Performer~P30518~Jessica Harper~jessicaharper]], [[Performer~P68812~Gloria Stuart~gloriastuart]] and [[Performer~P19028~Selma Diamond~selmadiamond]], a real-life comedy writer for [[Performer~P10145~Sid Caesar~sidcaesar]]. My Favorite Year was converted into an unsuccessful Broadway musical in the early 1990s. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:October 1, 1982

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Peter O'Toole Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1982 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Peter O'Toole Best Actor 1982 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Lainie Kazan Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1982 Nominee

Cast

Peter O'Toole
as Alan Swann
Mark Linn-Baker
as Benjy Stone
Jessica Harper
as K.C. Downing
Joseph Bologna
as King Kaiser
Bill Macy
as Sy Benson
Lainie Kazan
as Belle Carroca
Anne de Salvo
as Alice Miller
Basil Hoffman
as Herb Lee
Lou Jacobi
as Uncle Morty
Adolph Green
as Leo Silver
Tony di Benedetto
as Alfie Bumbacelli
George Wyner
as Myron Fein
Cameron Mitchell
as Karl Rojeck
Corinne Bohrer
as Bonnie
Martin Garner
as Mr. Cantor
Norman Steinberg
as Sandy
John Welsh
as Cubby Brown
Jenny Neumann
as Connie
Ted Grossman
as Marris
Pearl Shear
as Mrs. Kessler
Rex Benson
as Makeup Man
Teresa Ganzel
as Dumpling
Barbra Horan
as Lady Eleanor
Karen Haber
as Vivian
Denver Mattson
as Thug #1
George Marshall Ruge
as Lord Drummond
Archie Hahn III
as Delivery Boy
Richard Brestoff
as Stage Manager
John Medici
as Scalfoni
Vincent Sardi
as Policeman
Stanley Brock
as Mr. Berkowitz
George Fisher
as Thug #2
Philip Bruns
as Fed. Marshal Holt
Jed Mills
as Member #1
Priscilla Kovary
as Priscilla
Fox Harris
as Curt
Howard George
as Artie
Nick Dimitri
as Thug #4
Ramon Sison
as Rookie Carroca

Crew

Richard Benjamin
Director
Art Levinson
Producer
Michael Gruskoff
Producer
Michael Levy
Producer
Dennis Palumbo
Screen Story
Dennis Palumbo
Screenwriter
Norman Steinberg
Screenwriter
Richard Chew
Editor
Charles Rosen
Production Designer
Larry Rapaport
Set Designer
Herb Mulligan
Set Designer
May Routh
Costume Designer
Jerry Jost
Sound/Sound Designer
William S. Beasley
First Assistant Director
Advertisement