Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Oct. 14, 2014

My Darling Clementine Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of the greatest movie Westerns, [[Performer~P208413~John Ford~johnford]]'s My Darling Clementine is hardly the most accurate film version of the Wyatt Earp legend, but it is still one of the most entertaining. [[Performer~P24097~Henry Fonda~henryfonda]] stars as former lawman Wyatt Earp, who, after cleaning up Dodge City, arrives in the outskirts of Tombstone with his brothers Morgan ([[Performer~P7236~Ward Bond~wardbond]]), Virgil ([[Performer~P33051~Tim Holt~timholt]]), and James ([[Performer~P25982~Don Garner~dongarner]]), planning to sell their cattle and settle down as gentlemen farmers. Yet Wyatt, disgusted by crime and cattle rustling, eventually agrees to take the marshalling job until he can gather enough evidence to bring to justice the scurrilous Clanton clan, headed by smooth-talking but shifty-eyed Old Man Clanton ([[Performer~P8313~Walter Brennan~walterbrennan]]). Almost immediately, Wyatt runs afoul of consumptive, self-hating gambling boss Doc Holliday ([[Performer~P46528~Victor Mature~victormature]], in perhaps his best performance). When Doc's erstwhile sweetheart, Clementine ([[Performer~P19964~Cathy Downs~cathydowns]]) comes to town, Earp is immediately smitten. However, Doc himself is now involved with saloon gal Chihauhua ([[Performer~P17046~Linda Darnell~lindadarnell]]). The tensions among Wyatt, Doc, Clementine, and Chihauhua wax and wane throughout most of the film, leading to the legendary gunfight at the OK Corral, with Wyatt and Doc fighting side-by-side against the despicable Clantons. Its powerful storyline and full-blooded characterizations aside, My Darling Clementine is most entertaining during those little "humanizing" moments common to Ford's films, notably Wyatt's impromptu "balancing act" while seated on the porch of the Tombstone hotel, and Wyatt's and Clementine's dance on the occasion of the town's church-raising. Based on Stuart N. Lake's novel Wyatt Earp, Frontier Marshall (previously filmed twice by Fox), the screenplay is full of wonderful dialogue, the best of which is the brief, philosophical exchange about women between Earp and Mac the bartender ([[Performer~P44144~J. Farrell MacDonald~johnfarrellmacdonald]]). The movie also features crisp, evocative black-and-white photography by [[Performer~P100538~Joseph MacDonald~joemacdonald]]. Producer (Daryl F. Zanuck) was displeased with Ford's original cut and the film went through several re-shoots and re-edits before its general release in November of 1946. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:January 1, 1946

Cast

Henry Fonda
as Wyatt Earp
Linda Darnell
as Chihuahua
Victor Mature
as Doc John Holliday
Jane Darwell
as Kate Nelson
Walter Brennan
as Old Man Clanton
Cathy Downs
as Clementine Carter
Ward Bond
as Morgan Earp
Francis Ford
as Dad
Don Garner
as James Earp
Tim Holt
as Virgil Earp
John Ireland
as Billy Clanton
Fred Libby
as Phin Clanton
John Farrell MacDonald
as Mac, the Bartender
Louis Mercier
as Francois
Alan Mowbray
as Granville Thorndyke
Roy Roberts
as Mayor
Mickey Simpson
as Sam Clanton
Russell Simpson
as John Simpson
Grant Withers
as Ike Clanton
Harry Woods
as Marshal Luke
Earl Foxe
as Gambler
William B. Davidson
as Oriental saloon owner
Frank Conlan
as Pianist
Mae Marsh
as Simpson's Sister
Charles Stevens
as Indian Troublemaker
Duke Lee
as Townsman
Robert Adler
as Stagecoach Driver
Don Barclay
as Opera house owner
Jack Pennick
as Stagecoach Driver
Danny Borzage
as Accordionist

Crew

John Ford
Director
Samuel G. Engel
Producer
Samuel G. Engel
Screenwriter
Winston Miller
Screenwriter
Sam Hellman
Screen Story
Sam Hellman
Screenwriter
Joe MacDonald
Cinematographer
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Buttolph
Composer (Music Score)
Cyril Mockridge
Composer (Music Score)
Dorothy Spencer
Editor
James Basevi
Art Director
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Rene Hubert
Costume Designer
Roger Heman
Sound/Sound Designer
Eugene Grossman
Sound/Sound Designer
Fred Sersen
Special Effects
William Eckhardt
First Assistant Director
Advertisement