Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Murder on the Orient Express Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Like many of [[Performer~P216888~Agatha Christie~agathachristie]]'s mysteries, Murder on the Orient Express is predicated on an actual event, in this case the Lindbergh kidnapping. In the movie, everyone on board the Orient Express seems to have concluded that hateful financier Ratchett ([[Performer~P76135~Richard Widmark~richardwidmark]]) was behind the abduction and murder of the infant daughter of a famed aviatrix. Thus, when Ratchett is himself found murdered, everyone is suspect. Normally, the police would handle the investigation, but the train has been stalled by a snowslide halfway between Istanbul and Paris. Thus, it's up to the insufferable but brilliant Belgian detective Hercule Poirot (an unrecognizable [[Performer~P23545~Albert Finney~albertfinney]]) to activate his "little grey cells" and determine who's guilty. Among the suspects are colorful characters played by [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]], [[Performer~P3629~Martin Balsam~martinbalsam]], [[Performer~P6361~Jacqueline Bisset~jacquelinebisset]], [[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]], [[Performer~P32374~Wendy Hiller~wendyhiller]], [[Performer~P26803~John Gielgud~johngielgud]], [[Performer~P106120~Anthony Perkins~anthonyperkins]], [[Performer~P59206~Vanessa Redgrave~vanessaredgrave]], and [[Performer~P5652~Ingrid Bergman~ingridbergman]], whose performance won her a third Academy Award. (In her acceptance speech, [[Performer~P5652~Bergman~ingridbergman]] apologized for her win, insisting that [[Feature~V65185~Day for Night~dayfornight]]'s [[Performer~P15148~Valentina Cortese~valentinacortese]] deserved the prize.) The first and best in a long line of contemporary [[Performer~P216888~Christie~agathachristie]] adaptations, the film scores on atmosphere, period detail, and richness of characterization. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Albert Finney Best Actor 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Geoffrey Unsworth Best Cinematography 1974 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ingrid Bergman Best Supporting Actress 1974 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ingrid Bergman Best Supporting Actress 1974 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Sidney Lumet Best Picture 1974 Nominee
Directors Guild of America Sidney Lumet Best Director 1974 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tony Walton Best Costume Design 1974 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts John Gielgud Best Supporting Actor 1974 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Richard Rodney Bennett Anthony Asquith Award 1974 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Rodney Bennett Best Original Dramatic Score 1974 Nominee

Cast

Albert Finney
as Hercule Poirot
Lauren Bacall
as Mrs. Hubbard
Ingrid Bergman
as Greta
Sean Connery
as Col. Arbuthnot
Martin Balsam
as Bianchi
Vanessa Redgrave
as Mary Debenham
Richard Widmark
as Ratchett
Jacqueline Bisset
as Countess Andrenyi
Wendy Hiller
as Princess Dragomiroff
Michael York
as Count Andrenyi
Denis Quilley
as Antonio Foscarelli
Rachel Roberts
as Hildegarde Schmidt
John Gielgud
as Beddoes
George Silver
as Chef
Jean-Pierre Cassel
as Pierre Michel
Colin Blakely
as Cyrus Hardman
George Coulouris
as Dr. Constantine
Jeremy Lloyd
as A.D.C.
John Moffatt
as Chief Attendant
Anthony Perkins
as McQueen
Vernon Dobtcheff
as Concierge

Crew

Sidney Lumet
Director
Lord John Brabourne
Producer
Richard Goodwin
Producer
Agatha Christie
Book Author
Geoffrey Unsworth
Cinematographer
Richard Rodney Bennett
Composer (Music Score)
Marcus Dods
Musical Direction/Supervision
Anne V. Coates
Editor
Tony Walton
Production Designer
Tony Walton
Costume Designer
Bill Rowe
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Handford
Sound/Sound Designer
Ted Sturgis
First Assistant Director
John Siddall
Draftsman
Advertisement