Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor Details


director Rob Cohen continues the tale set into motion by director Stephen Sommers with this globe-trotting adventure that finds explorer Rick O'Connell and son attempting to thwart a resurrected emperor's (Jet Li) plan to enslave the entire human race. It's been 2,000 years since China's merciless Emperor Han and his formidable army were entombed in terra cotta clay by a double-dealing sorceress (Michelle Yeoh), but now, after centuries in suspended animation, an ancient curse is about to be broken. Thanks to his childhood adventures alongside father Rick (Brendan Fraser) and mother Evelyn (Maria Bello), dashing young archeologist Alex O'Connell (Luke Ford) is more than familiar with the power of the supernatural. After he is tricked into awakening the dreaded emperor from his eternal slumber, however, the frightened young adventurer is forced to seek out the wisdom of his parents -- both of whom have had their fair share of experience battling the legions of the undead. Should the fierce monarch prove capable of awakening his powerful terra cotta army, his diabolical plan for world domination will finally be set into motion. Of course, the one factor that this emperor mummy failed to consider while solidifying his power-mad plans was the O'Connells, and before this battle is over, the monstrous monarch will be forced to contend with the one family that isn't frightened by a few rickety reanimated corpses. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:August 1, 2008


Awarded by
Costume Guild Awards Sanja Milkovic Hays Best Art Direction in a Fantasy Film 2008 Nominee


Brendan Fraser
as Rick O'Connell
Jet Li
as Emperor Han
Maria Bello
as Evelyn O'Connell
John Hannah
as Jonathan Carnahan
Michelle Yeoh
as Zi Yuan
Luke Ford
as Alex O'Connell
Anthony Wong
as General Yang
Isabella Leong
as Lin
Liam Cunningham
as Maguire
David Calder
as Roger Wilson
Russell Wong
as Ming Guo
Jessey Meng
as Choi
Liang Tian
as Li Zhou
Albert Kwan
as Chu Wah


Rob Cohen
Sean Daniel
Bob Ducsay
James Jacks
Stephen Sommers
Miles Millar
Alfred Gough
Simon Duggan
Randy Edelman
Composer (Music Score)
Kelly Matsumoto
Joel Negron
Nigel Phelps
Production Designer
David Gaucher
Art Director
Jean-Pierre Paquet
Art Director
Isabelle Guay
Supervising Art Director
Nicholas Lepage
Art Director
Réal Proulx
Art Director
Josette Perrotta
Lei Qin
Doris Tse
Chris Brigham
Executive Producer
Huang Jianxin
Executive Producer
Ren Zhonglun
Executive Producer
Guy Pigeon
Set Designer
Jean-Francois Gadoury
Set Designer
Martin Gagne
Set Designer
Lucie Tremblay
Set Designer
Alex Touikan
Set Designer
Lucie Paquet
Set Designer
Mario Chabot
Set Designer
Celine Lampron
Set Designer
Viorel Indries
Set Designer
Brent Lambert
Set Designer
Philippe Lord
Set Decorator
Eve Boulonne
Set Decorator
Sanja Milkovic Hays
Costume Designer
Anne Kuljian
Set Decorator
Martine Kazemirchuk-Giguère
Set Decorator
Daniel Carpentier
Set Decorator
Louis Marion
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruce Stambler
Sound/Sound Designer
Jacky Lavoie
Production Manager
Rhonda George
Production Coordinator
Joel Hynek
Visual Effects Supervisor
Gary Summers
Re-Recording Mixer
Lee Chiu Wah
Line Producer
Scott Millan
Re-Recording Mixer
Matthew Butler
Visual Effects Supervisor