Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Mud Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A pair of inquisitive adolescents encounter a charismatic drifter with an incredible story in this drama from [[Feature~V531451~Take Shelter~takeshelter]] writer/director [[Performer~P507110~Jeff Nichols~jeffnichols]]. Mississippi adolescents Ellis ([[Performer~P688085~Tye Sheridan~tyesheridan]]) and Neckbone ([[Performer~P719818~Jacob Lofland~jacoblofland]]) are exploring along the mighty Mississippi when they stumble upon a small island inhabited by Mud ([[Performer~P196967~Matthew McConaughey~matthewmcconaughey]]), a desperado who claims to be on the run from brutal bounty hunters after killing a man in Texas. According to Mud, his true love Juniper ([[Performer~P77086~Reese Witherspoon~reesewitherspoon]]) is awaiting his arrival in town, and together they plan to make a daring escape. Fascinated, the two boys agree to help Mud slip past his pursuers, despite the potential dangers of doing so. [[Performer~P111142~Sam Shepard~samshepard]], [[Performer~P225067~Sarah Paulson~sarahpaulson]], and [[Performer~P516240~Michael Shannon~michaelshannon]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 26, 2013

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Paul Sparks Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Ray McKinnon Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Sam Shepard Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Matthew McConaughey Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Detroit Film Critics Society Matthew McConaughey Best Supporting Actor 2013 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Reese Witherspoon Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Michael Shannon Robert Altman Award 2013 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Sarah Paulson Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Jeff Nichols Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Jeff Nichols Best Director 2013 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Joe Don Baker Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Tye Sheridan Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Jacob Lofland Robert Altman Award 2013 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Francine Maisler Robert Altman Award 2013 Winner

Cast

Matthew McConaughey
as Mud
Tye Sheridan
as Ellis
Jacob Lofland
as Neckbone
Reese Witherspoon
as Juniper
Sarah Paulson
as Mary Lee
Ray McKinnon
as Senior
Sam Shepard
as Tom Blakenship
Michael Shannon
as Galen
Paul Sparks
as Carver
Joe Don Baker
as King
Stuart Greer
as Miller

Crew

Jeff Nichols
Director
Lisa Maria Falcone
Producer
Sarah Green
Producer
Aaron Ryder
Producer
Jeff Nichols
Screenwriter
Adam Stone
Cinematographer
Julie Monroe
Editor
Richard A. Wright
Production Designer
Glen Basner
Executive Producer
Tom Heller
Executive Producer
Kari Perkins
Costume Designer
Ethan Andrus
Sound Mixer
Francine Maisler
Casting Director
Dan Glass
Co-Executive Producer
Mickey Giacomazzi
Stunts Coordinator
Sarah Tackett
Casting Director
Hope Garrison
Second Assistant Director
Michael Flynn
Line Producer
Advertisement