Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mrs. Dalloway Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This adaptation of the novel by Virginia Woolf stars [[Performer~P59206~Vanessa Redgrave~vanessaredgrave]] as Clarissa Dalloway, a woman in her mid-'50s living in London five years after the end of WWI. As Mrs. Dalloway prepares an elaborate dinner party at the home she shares with her husband, a prominent politician, she finds herself looking back on her life 30 years before, when as a young woman (played by ([[Performer~P224913~Natascha McElhone~nataschamcelhone]]), she was in love with two different men -- the solid and safe Richard Dalloway ([[Performer~P67558~John Standing~johnstanding]]) and the exciting, free-spirited Peter Walsh ([[Performer~P38585~Michael Kitchen~michaelkitchen]]). Clarissa also recalls her close friendship with Sally ([[Performer~P31362~Lena Headey~lenaheadey]]) as she wonders if she made the right choice in marrying Richard -- especially when Peter makes an unexpected appearance at her party. Mrs. Dalloway also finds herself moved in a way she never anticipated by the plight of Septimus Smith ([[Performer~P28320~Rupert Graves~rupertgraves]]), a young man severely injured during the war whom she has never met. Mrs. Dalloway was directed by [[Performer~P92158~Marleen Gorris~marleengorris]], whose previous credit was the international success [[Feature~V134973~Antonia's Line~antoniasline]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 4, 1997

Cast

Vanessa Redgrave
as Clarissa Dalloway
Natascha McElhone
as Clarissa Dalloway (younger)
Rupert Graves
as Septimus Warren Smith
Michael Kitchen
as Peter Walsh
John Standing
as Richard Dalloway
Alan Cox
as Young Peter
Lena Headey
as Young Sally
Margaret Tyzack
as Lady Bruton
Sarah Badel
as Sally Seton
Hilda Braid
as Woman in Deckchair
Katie Carr
as Elizabeth Dalloway

Crew

Marleen Gorris
Director
Stephen Bayly
Producer
Virginia Woolf
Book Author
Eileen Atkins
Screenwriter
Sue Gibson
Cinematographer
Ilona Sekacz
Composer (Music Score)
David Richens
Production Designer
Alison Wratten
Art Director
Nik Callan
Art Director
William Tyrer
Co-producer
Chris J. Ball
Co-producer
Paul Frift
Associate Producer
Jeanne Vertigan
Set Designer
Carlotta Barrow
Set Designer
Judy Pepperdine
Costume Designer
Peter Glossop
Sound/Sound Designer
Brian Simmons
Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Whelan
First Assistant Director
Celestia Fox
Casting
Advertisement