Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mr. Lucky Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of [[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant's~carygrant]] most financially successful 1940s vehicles, [[Feature~V179919~Mr. Lucky~rakkiisan]] finds Grant atypically cast as a shifty, out-for-number-one gambler. Having dodged the draft by adopting the identity of a dead man, Grant sets his sights on purchasing a fancy gambling ship. To raise the necessary funds, he pretends to be working hand in glove with the American War Relief society. Once he meets [[Performer~P17541~Laraine Day~laraineday]], however, Grant is seized by an uncontrollable bout of honesty. It takes him awhile, but he finally does the right thing. The film is framed in flashback, as old seaman [[Performer~P6091~Charles Bickford~charlesbickford]] explains why a tearful Laraine Day waits at the dock each evening for a certain ship to come in. Also in the cast is [[Performer~P112799~Paul Stewart~paulstewart]] as a cold-eyed but nonetheless semi-comic hoodlum, and [[Performer~P35870~Kay Johnson~kayjohnson]] and [[Performer~P14818~Gladys Cooper~gladyscooper]] as elegant but gullible society women. The best aspect of this breezy comedy-drama is Grant's cockney propensity for "rhyming slang," a running gag better heard than described. [[Feature~V179919~Mr. Lucky~rakkiisan]] was later adapted into a TV series in 1959, with [[Performer~P73756~John Vivyan~johnvivyan]] in the Cary Grant part and with [[Performer~P88685~Blake Edwards~blakeedwards]] at the production controls. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Cary Grant
as Joe Adams
Laraine Day
as Dorothy Bryant
Charles Bickford
as Hard Swede
Gladys Cooper
as Capt. Steadman
Alan Carney
as Crunk
Henry Stephenson
as Mr. Bryant
Paul Stewart
as Zepp
Kay Johnson
as Mrs. Ostrander
Erford Gage
as Gaffer
Walter Kingsford
as Convoy Commissioner Hargraves
J.M. Kerrigan
as McDougal
Edward Fielding
as Foster
Vladimir Sokoloff
as Greek Priest
Frank Henry
as Reporter on Street
Joseph Crehan
as Detective
Frank Mills
as Workman at Slot Machine
Hal K. Dawson
as Draft Board Director
Sam Harris
as Gambling Extra
Mary Forbes
as Dowager
Charles Cane
as Comstock
Daphne Moore
as Nurse
Robert Strange
as Captain Costello
John Bleifer
as Siga
Sam Finn
Lloyd Ingraham
as Taxi Driver
Al Murphy
Ariel Heath
as Girl
Isabel Withers
Hilda Plowright
as Maid
Florence Bates
as Mrs. Van Every
Fred Rapport
as Gambler
Don Brodie
as Dealer
Kernan Cripps
as Detective
Rita Corday
as Girl
Charles Lane
as Comstock
Jack Gargan
as Reporter
Emory Parnell
as Dock Watchman

Crew

H.C. Potter
Director
David Hempstead
Producer
George Barnes
Cinematographer
Constantin Bakaleinikoff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Roy Webb
Composer (Music Score)
Theron Warth
Editor
William Cameron Menzies
Production Designer
Mark-Lee Kirk
Art Director
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Renie
Costume Designer
Vernon Walker
Special Effects
Advertisement

Other movies like this