Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Mr. Deeds Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

One of [[Performer~P84082~Frank Capra~frankcapra]]'s best-loved stories gets a modernized and wildly slapstick reinterpretation in this romantic comedy starring [[Performer~P62990~Adam Sandler~adamsandler]]. When Preston Blake ([[Performer~P57703~Harve Presnell~harvepresnell]]), a remarkably wealthy media magnate, dies with neither a wife nor children, the question on the lips of most of his associates is who will inherit the estate. The surprising answer turns out to be Longfellow Deeds ([[Performer~P62990~Adam Sandler~adamsandler]]), a cheerful but half-bright proprietor of a small-town pizzeria, as well as part-time greeting card poet, who was a distant relative of Blake. In order to claim his 40-billion-dollar inheritance, Deeds heads to New York City, where Blake's former associates, Chuck Cedar ([[Performer~P25621~Peter Gallagher~petergallagher]]) and Cecil Anderson ([[Performer~P2927~Erick Avari~erickavari]]), introduce him to the city while trying to figure out how to get their hands on his new fortune. Meanwhile, Mac McGrath ([[Performer~P30630~Jared Harris~jaredharris]]), the producer of a sleazy tabloid television show, wants to get the inside scoop on Deeds, and comes up with perfect way to get it: he sends beautiful but unscrupulous reporter Babe Bennett ([[Performer~P62446~Winona Ryder~winonaryder]]) to sweep Deeds off his feet while she's wired for sound. Convincing Deeds that she's from a small town just like himself, Bennett quickly wins his heart, but while his affection is sincere, hers is not. He also displays a curious eagerness to defend her good name with his fists which quickly gets him in trouble. Meanwhile, as Deeds becomes the new laughing stock of New York thanks to Bennett's stories, Deeds decides it's time he did something big with his money, while Cedar and Anderson think they've finally found a way to take control of Deeds' holdings. Mr. Deeds also features supporting performances from [[Performer~P114771~John Turturro~johnturturro]], [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]], and [[Performer~P22767~Conchata Ferrell~conchataferrell]]. [[Performer~P47339~John McEnroe~johnmcenroe]] and [[Performer~P64884~Rev. Al Sharpton~alsharpton]] make cameo appearances as themselves. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 28, 2002

Cast

Adam Sandler
as Longfellow Deeds
Winona Ryder
as Babe Bennett
Peter Gallagher
as Chuck Cedar
Jared Harris
as Mac McGrath
Allen Covert
as Marty
Erick Avari
as Cecil Anderson
John Turturro
as Emilio
Peter Dante
as Murph
Conchata Ferrell
as Jan
Harve Presnell
as Preston Blake
Steve Buscemi
as Crazy Eyes
Blake Clark
as Buddy Ward
J.B. Smoove
as Reuben
John McEnroe
as Himself
Al Sharpton
as Himself
Gideon Jacobs
as Jimmy
Roark Critchlow
as William

Crew

Jared Harris
Director
Steven Brill
Director
Jack Giarraputo
Producer
Sid Ganis
Producer
Tim Herlihy
Screenwriter
Peter Lyons Collister
Screenwriter
Peter Lyons Collister
Cinematographer
Teddy Castellucci
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Dilbeck
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jeff Gourson
Editor
Perry Andelin Blake
Production Designer
Stephen McCabe
Art Director
Steve Carter
Art Director
Alex Siskin
Co-producer
Allen Covert
Associate Producer
Joseph M. Caracciolo, Jr.
Executive Producer
Adam Sandler
Executive Producer
Lauri Gaffin
Set Designer
Beth A. Rubino
Set Designer
Kevin Cross
Set Designer
Al Hobbs
Set Designer
Ellen Lutter
Costume Designer
Felipe Borrero
Sound/Sound Designer
Roger Mussenden
Casting
Elmo Weber
Supervising Sound Editor
Advertisement