Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Fed up with crowded big-city living, advertising executive Mr. Blandings ([[Performer~P28204~Cary Grant~carygrant]]) decides to seek out a big, roomy house in the country. Armed with more enthusiasm than common sense, Blandings causes many a headache for his lawyer/business manager [[Performer~P19878~Melvyn Douglas~melvyndouglas]], who tries to keep the costs within a reasonable amount. Alas, Blandings bulls ahead on his own, first purchasing an estate on the verge of collapse, then opting to build his dream house from scratch. An unpleasant legal squabble over the fact that Blandings purchased his new property without checking with the prior owners throws even more good money after bad. The construction of the new Blandings digs is slowed down to a walk by doors and windows that don't fit, plumbing that fails to function, doorknobs that break upon contact with human flesh, temperamental workmen, and various and sundry other homeowners' nightmares (if all this sounds like the much-later [[Performer~P93341~Tom Hanks~tomhanks]]/[[Performer~P43119~Shelley Long~shelleylong]] comedy [[Feature~V33106~The Money Pit~themoneypit]], it only shows to go how little has changed in forty years--except, of course, for the costs of things). Attempting to keep a level head throughout the proceedings is Mrs. Blandings ([[Performer~P43561~Myrna Loy~myrnaloy]]), though even she is guilty of pretensions and excess, especially in the classic "choice of colors" scene. The humor in Mr. Blandings Builds His Dream House springs so naturally from the central situation that it seems intrusive when the scriptwriters throw in an arbitrary French-farce scene wherein Blandings suspects that his wife and his lawyer are fooling around (a plot point that the original [[Performer~P32645~Eric Hodgins~earlhodgins]] novel did just fine without). One of the best bits comes near the end, when [[Performer~P4840~Louise Beavers~louisebeavers]], the Blandings' cook, saves the day for everyone by ad libbing "If you ain't eating Wham, you ain't eating Ham." Why should we spoil your enjoyment by explaining that line? Now you'll have to see the picture. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Cary Grant
as Jim Blandings
Louise Beavers
as Gussie
Myrna Loy
as Muriel Blandings
Melvyn Douglas
as Bill Cole
Reginald Denny
as Henry Simms
Jason Robards, Sr.
as John Retch
Lex Barker
as Carpenter Foreman
Sharyn Moffett
as Joan Blandings
Nestor Paiva
as Joe Appolionion
Emory Parnell
as Mr. Delford
Harry Shannon
as W.D. Tesander
Lurene Tuttle
as Mary
Tito Vuolo
as Mr. Zucca
Franklin Parker
as Simpson
Will Wright
as Eph Hackett
Hal K. Dawson
as Mr. Selby
Stanley Andrews
as Murphy
Charles B. Middleton
as Wrecker
Mike Lally
Cliff Clark
as Jones
Friedrich Ledebur
as Workman
Frank Darien
as Judge Quarles
Don Brodie
as Charlie
Kernan Cripps
as Cop
Robert Bray
Ian Wolfe
as Smith

Crew

H.C. Potter
Director
Melvin Frank
Producer
Norman Panama
Producer
Norman Panama
Screenwriter
Melvin Frank
Screenwriter
James Wong Howe
Cinematographer
Constantin Bakaleinikoff
Musical Direction/Supervision
Leigh Harline
Composer (Music Score)
Harry Marker
Editor
Albert S. D'Agostino
Art Director
Carroll Clark
Art Director
Darrell Silvera
Set Designer
Harley Miller
Set Designer
Robert Kalloch
Costume Designer
Gordon Bau
Makeup
Advertisement