Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mr. Holland's Opus Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A teacher belatedly discovers just how important his job really is in this emotional drama. Glenn Holland ([[Performer~P88268~Richard Dreyfuss~richarddreyfuss]]) is a man with a deep love of music and a desire to write at least one piece of lasting significance. However, playing piano in cocktail lounges while he works on his own compositions doesn't pay the bills, so in 1965 he reluctantly accepts a job as a high school music teacher. Over the next 30 years, Holland is able to teach a great deal about both music and life to thousands of kids who pass through the various classes he leads and school bands he directs; however, he finds it easier to reach his students than his son Cole (played, as he grows older, by [[Performer~P200673~Nicholas John Renner~nicholasjohnrenner]], [[Performer~P199655~Joseph Anderson~josephanderson]], and [[Performer~P200528~Anthony Natale~anthonynatale]]), who is deaf, which drives a wedge between Glenn and his wife Iris ([[Performer~P31365~Glenne Headly~glenneheadly]]). [[Performer~P88268~Richard Dreyfuss~richarddreyfuss]] earned an Academy Award nomination as Best Actor for Mr. Holland's Opus; the cast also includes [[Performer~P20452~Olympia Dukakis~olympiadukakis]], [[Performer~P44480~William H. Macy~williamhmacy]], and [[Performer~P70585~Jay Thomas~jaythomas]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:January 19, 1996

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Richard Dreyfuss Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1995 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Dreyfuss Best Actor 1995 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Patrick Sheane Duncan Best Screenplay 1995 Nominee

Cast

Richard Dreyfuss
as Glenn Holland
Glenne Headly
as Iris Holland
Jay Thomas
as Bill Meister
Olympia Dukakis
as Principal Jacobs
William H. Macy
as Vice Principal Wolters
Alicia Witt
as Gertrude Lang
Joanna Gleason
as Adult Gertrude
Keith Swift
as Football Player
Kasey Nelson
as Girl
Spencer Riviera
as Mr Hosta
Kevin Calaba
as Football Player
Patrick Fong
as Study Hall Student
John Henry Redwood
as Mr Russ
Brent Archie
as Football Player
Tara Eng
as Auditioner
Jordan Carlton
as Auditioner
Jean Louisa Kelly
as Rowena Morgan
Tomiko Peirano
as Girl
Ashley Hamrick
as Miss Reeves
Beth Maitland
as Deaf School Principal
Dennis Biasi
as Adult Stadler
Damon Whitaker
as Bobby Tidd
Terrence Howard
as Louis Russ
Joshua Minnick
as Mr Shapiro
Adam Fitzhugh
as Mr McKenzie
John Boyer
as Billy Faraday
Alexandra Boyd
as Sarah Olmstead
Zoe McLellan
as Girl
Kaili Carlton
as Ms Wayne
Janine Shouse
as Miss Schumaker
Kathryn Arnett
as Ms Swedlin
Moira Feeney
as Ms Godfrey
Alex Dudgeon
as Auditioner
Conan Doherty
as Toby Klein
Stacey Siegel
as Diner Waitress
Sean Bevington
as Mr McMartin
Ted Roisum
as Dr Sorenson
Rachel Wooley
as Auditioner

Crew

Stephen Herek
Director
Michael F. Nolin
Producer
Ted Field
Producer
Robert W. Cort
Producer
Patrick Sheane Duncan
Screenwriter
Oliver Wood
Cinematographer
Michael Kamen
Composer (Music Score)
Trudy Ship
Editor
David Nichols
Production Designer
Dina Lipton
Art Director
William Teitler
Co-producer
Judith James
Co-producer
Patrick Sheane Duncan
Executive Producer
Alan Manzer
Set Designer
Aggie Guerard Rodgers
Costume Designer
Jeffrey Wetzel
First Assistant Director
Sharon Boyle
Supervisor/Manager
Sharon Bialy
Casting
Advertisement