Jen Yamato
Tangled Review

Jen's Rating:

1.5

A dainty step backward.

Who’s In It: The voices of Mandy Moore, Zachary Levi, Donna Murphy, M.C. Gainey, Richard Kiel, Ron Perlman, Paul F. Tompkins

The Basics: Once upon a time, a baby princess was born. Five minutes later she was promptly kidnapped by an evil witch who raised her as her own in a tower to harness the girl’s magical age-reversing locks for herself. Now, years later, Rapunzel’s a beautiful woman-child (Mandy Moore, possessed of the perfect Disney Princess voice) with hair for days, a curiosity for the outside world, and crippling issues with codependency and agoraphobia. Good thing there’s a handsome young thief (Zachary Levi) gallivanting around to help Rapunzel leave the nest like most teenagers do – by lying to her mom and running away from home with some guy.

What’s The Deal: For all the girl power messaging in Tangled’s marketing campaign, this updated Rapunzel is a fairly terrible role model for little girls. Rapunzel strains to leave home under the guise of independence, but she just ends up trading one crutch (her stepmother) for another (her man); though handy with a cast-iron frying pan, her emblematically domestic weapon of choice, she nonetheless allows herself to be kidnapped and emotionally intimidated, whether by bloodthirsty thugs or by her own mother. Rapunzel is effectively powerless to defend herself, though she can heal others by singing to her own hair – fat lot of good that’d do if the story hadn’t invented a heroic love interest to hang half of the film on. Snow White lamented, “Some day my prince will come,” back in 1937. It’s a shame that over 70 years later, Disney isn’t singing much of a different tune.

What Tangled Does Well: It breathes visual life into the Rapunzel character in a crisp and pleasing way; the animation isn’t terribly stylized, but it’s just bland enough not to distract. Disney couldn’t get farther away from the world of its last, under-performing, animated princess flick – the New Orleans-set The Princess and the Frog, full of lights and colors and minute details – here keeping it so simple that all that lingers in your mind is the film’s pretty, peppy heroine and her long, lustrous, blonde hair.

What Tangled Doesn’t Do So Well: Besides failing to give Rapunzel a backbone and retreading ground so familiar you can fall asleep for ten minutes and still know exactly what happened, Tangled fails the ultimate Disney test: It doesn’t have a single memorable song. When even Oscar-winning composer Alan Menken, who’s collaborated on such classic ditties as “Under the Sea,” “Be Our Guest” and “Colors of the Wind,” can’t write a winner, you know this isn’t the next Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White or Little Mermaid.

Fair Warning To Parents: Tangled is rated PG for “brief mild violence,” but what that rating doesn’t tell you is that it’s for a particularly intense scene in which a main character is stabbed. To DEATH. If shanking is your idea of “mild violence,” then by all means, take the kiddies – and enjoy paying for therapy!

Share
RSS RSS

Comments (50)

evil feminist - 11-29-2010 8:10 PM
Flag This Comment

I agree with this review, I wouldn't have bothered saying anything about it except for the reviews of the review are just poisonous and I feel I have to argue them, at the very least by saying I disagree. With them, I mean. Rapunzel certainly doesn't do much for herself in this movie, even the other lead female (Grothel) is manipulative and selfish. As is often the Disney way, either you're naive and bright-eyed, or a bitter witch. (Much as these reader comments suggest about you! *eyeroll*) Not to say this was a very empowering movie for guys, either. Actually, I don't think I felt empowered by ANYONE one in the movie. At least it was pretty.

Wittgen - 11-29-2010 11:12 PM
Flag This Comment

I have to strongly disagree with this review. The movie had a few problems (most notably a, for Disney, sub par score) but misogyny was not one of them. Above, Mandy brought up many good points as to why exactly this is. I'll only add a few. Frying pan as symbol of domestic servitude? The royal guard adopts it as their official weapon. If you're going to interpret the frying pan as symbolizing women somehow, the movie would be saying that women are crazy strong. The frying pan was almost mystically strong. Ran away with some guy? She blackmailed him into helping her with her dream. He was not the one with power in that situation. While the relationship is a typically shallow true love fairy tale romance, the foundations were solid.

Wittgen - 11-29-2010 11:17 PM
Flag This Comment

(cont)To expound upon the relationship being solid, the movie makes it abundantly clear that she does not fall for him because of his looks or his position or anything like that. She falls for him a bit because of his sense of humor and a lot because of the way he treats her. He treats her decently. Yes, he had an unfair advantage in being the first person to have the opportunity to treat her nicely, but at what point you meet someone in their life is always going to have a strong effect on your relationship with them. No backbone? She runs away despite being emotionally abused all her life. She stands up to big scary men and sways them to her side with her bubbly charm. She beats the crap out of Flynn at the beginning. What movie did yo

Wittgen - 11-29-2010 11:20 PM
Flag This Comment

Also, the shanking was out of frame. He was stabbed, yes, but you don't see the knife penetrate and you barely see any blood.

Jesus Krishna - 11-30-2010 2:54 AM
Flag This Comment

And you liked "Burlesque?" I suppose PCD style "dropping to your knees" for the right guy when he drops his jeans sets a good example for women? I think your priorities with regard to money, muscles, and hair are out of line but I am not sure if your reviews are entirely sincere so how can I know for sure?

Rachel - 11-30-2010 8:05 PM
Flag This Comment

How did Jen Yamato get to be a reviewer--I pretty much see every movie that comes out, and at this point, If she says she doesn't like it, then I know I will. Her reviews suck. I actually believe that she doesn't even watch the movies. Just please don't pay any mind to her critiques--they are meaningless. Movies.com--please find someone else, anyone. Seriously.

Sarah - 11-30-2010 10:07 PM
Flag This Comment

This has to be one of the worst reviews ever written. Tangled was a touching, beautiful, magical, and down right fun movie to watch. The characters were endearing, believable, and hilarious. People: do not listen to Jen's review. As always, Disney has made a truly heartwarming and memorable movie that young and old will love: right up there with Cars and Nemo and Monster's Inc. and Little Mermaid. Wonderful film; bad review. Thanks for making magic, Disney!!!!

katherine - 12-02-2010 8:36 PM
Flag This Comment

listen lady yes, he WAS stabbed but NOT TO DEATH & plus when mother gothel (donna murphy) took the knife out there wasnt any blood Bonus: when you see the blood on flynns chest you only see a little so dont be saying "oh enjoy payin for your kids therapy " lady >:( >:( >:(

allison - 12-04-2010 6:46 PM
Flag This Comment

i saw the movie it was wonderful

Leila Anderson - 12-05-2010 10:47 AM
Flag This Comment

Wow umm u must really dont like this story, this movie is one of the best disney animated movie of disney, i think ur out of ur mind Jen.

Tenkan - 12-05-2010 2:47 PM
Flag This Comment

The movie wasn't that bad. Although most of your review was true, I don't fully agree with your final statement. That the main hero got stabbed, and it's a big problem. Yeah, I do believe that the scene was completely unnecessary, ineffective, and not a surprise, I don't think it'll make much of a difference to the kids either abotu the whole ideal. My little brother didn't...then again...he does play a lot of video games. :P

Nick - 12-05-2010 4:57 PM
Flag This Comment

I took my daughter to see this yesterday, and absolutely loved it. Beautiful animation, regardless of the 3D - which was well done. I found it quite funny and completely engaging. Was I desperately looking for a role model for my daughter? Nope, because I'm not an idiot. Did I need "the song?" No again. Were we both thoroughly entertained? You bet. Blows the hell out of any film that Dreamworks has ever produced in my opinion.

Stephanie - 12-06-2010 10:41 PM
Flag This Comment

I read this review and Dave's, and I couldn't disagree with them more. I saw Tangled with sisters (one who is six), and we all loved it. I thought it was one of the best Disney movies I have ever seen, and I will definitely be buying the movie on DVD. It was funny, touching, and the animation was beautiful. My family and I loved it, and I completely disagree with this review. My six year old sister is very timid and scares easily, and the stabbing scene did not traumatize her whatsoever.

Rebecca - 12-07-2010 8:28 PM
Flag This Comment

"Trading one crutch for another?" It was a story about a girl overcoming her domestic abuse situation in a time before Child Protective Services or psychiatric therapy. How sophisticated a method did you expect a seventeen-year-old, abused shut-in case to come up with to stand up to the only other person she's ever known in her life? Rapunzel mustered amazing strength and courage given her circumstances, and always made the best of her situation. The frying pan which you took such offense to is proof against your entire argument; she took a domesticated sign of weakness, as you so note, and transformed it into an empowering tool. Your pompous self-righteous attitude amazes me, Jen.

Alena - 12-08-2010 9:14 AM
Flag This Comment

This film was brilliant! A stroke of genious and definitely worth watching. It's suitable for the young and the old. The public is right, it's brilliant, it's already on top of all the current movies generating approx 21 million. Not only is it funny, but it's full of wit and morals. Exactly another classic which will never die out along with Cinderella, Beauty and The Beast and so many more.

Anon - 12-09-2010 9:00 AM
Flag This Comment

I love all the people defending this film and putting down the reviewer. In six months or less no one is going to give a damn about this film. And when it gets released on disc all you people who paid to see it are just going to go"huh...I already saw it." many of you are acting like this is the greatest Disney film to come out this year, and its not. Did you people not even bother to read the review and just see the score and get all angered. Even I can tell this is just a cash in on Disney's part just based on the trailers. They didn't expect this film to break any new ground, but obviously they duped you people into spending money on it. You could have donated your money instead, and the time you spend bashing the reviewer on some

Naty - 12-10-2010 5:11 PM
Flag This Comment

WHAT KIND OF WORLD IS IT WHEN YOU HAVE TO READ SOMEONE ELSE'S OPINION BEFORE YOU SEE A MOVIE???!!!!!! its not like your going to get severly hurt and you need to know before you watch it. I honeslty dont know why she gave it a low rating, it was one of Disney's CUTEST princess films ever!!! :)

Bridget - 12-12-2010 12:23 AM
Flag This Comment

*continued* she's ready to return home with her hateful "mother." It's really a terrible message to send to young viewers.

hi - 12-13-2010 3:20 PM
Flag This Comment

nice, i want to see that movie

Deskrage - 12-17-2010 12:24 PM
Flag This Comment

...Did you even watch the film? She has more of a backbone than Flynn...if I recall, she saves his ass at LEAST twice. I don't know if you'll recall most fairy tales, for Pete's sake. Or even just Disney movies. Strongest villains? Lady Tremain, Ursula, Maleficent, Cruella, just to name a few. To say that a mother character turned evil in a freaking fairy tale is ridiculous. Frankly, it is such a terrifying, creepy thing that it is a trope immemorial. Straw man, much?

JACK - 12-18-2010 8:21 PM
Flag This Comment

your review is wrong..girls are supposed to depend on us guys

David Bell - 12-18-2010 9:08 PM
Flag This Comment

Jen, you're review is SPOT ON...if you're thinking of the 2003 thriller "Tangled" with Lorraine Bracco and Rachael Leigh Cook. If so, then YES, bad female role models. But if you're talking about this year's Disney film, you could not be MORE off-base. Statements like, "Good thing there’s a handsome young thief (Zachary Levi) gallivanting around to help Rapunzel leave the nest like most teenagers do." and "Rapunzel is effectively powerless to defend herself..." make me wonder what, exactly you were doing for the 100 minutes in the theater. Rapunzel forces Flynn to take her to see the lanterns. Rapunzel saves Flynn not once but twice. He does not save her! And as for the intense stabbing scene? Again, what film were you watching.

angie - 12-19-2010 11:28 PM
Flag This Comment

Jen Yamato, I'd like to hit you with a frying pan n hide you in my closet. i dont like disney movies, but this movie was awesome. my husband loved it and the guy is a punk! this movie made him laugh and he actually felt bad for Rapunzel. you, woman, are a sad person. come to washington so u can get a free hug... you need one.

Isa - 12-21-2010 5:07 PM
Flag This Comment

This movie was actually one of the best movies I've seen in a long, long time. I honestly thought Rapunzel was charming, naive, and lovable. However: I can see where Jen is coming from. Rapunzel isn't necessarily the strongest role model out there. I feel like saying she is a "terrible" role model is an egregious hyperbole, yet in all honesty she isn't the best one either. Who says she has to be a strong role model anyways? Why can't it just be a movie taken at face value as one that either is entertaining or not? Everyone is taking this review FAR too seriously. It's just someone's opinion.

Seth - 12-23-2010 4:07 AM
Flag This Comment

Was the part about the stabbing a joke? There was barely any blood, he was stabbed one time and kids are going to need counseling for that? I will agree that the music in the film is not as memorable as some of Disney's previous movies, however, it still works well and the performers are brilliant. Overall I thought the film had a great message was one of the best Disney movies I've seen in a while.

Cody Sanders - 12-23-2010 6:41 PM
Flag This Comment

I'm afraid you have no taste for good movies, Jen Yamato. May I suggest going the route of the villain in Ratatouille and getting fired from your job? Or was that a movie you didn't like enough to finish to the end?

Cody Sanders - 12-23-2010 6:58 PM
Flag This Comment

Also, Bridget, I suggest reading a psychology book. Because you don't seem to have any idea that a child being brain-washed from the moment she became aware MAY have a little bit of confidence issues. Especially at a devastating moment when she loses the only foundation she had for confidence in the "real" world (that was manipulated by her "mother")... You know, that one moment in the film? Where shortly after she realized that she DID have a backbone, that this woman WASN'T her Mother, STOOD up to her "mother", and attempted to leave? Strong women and men aren't born. They are made. Rapunzel's moment was when she realized she wasn't this woman's child. Pay attention to the movie next time.

Preston - 12-24-2010 12:39 AM
Flag This Comment

I never comment on reviews. But Jen has got to go. Please fire her. She is rediculous.

shawna - 12-27-2010 7:22 PM
Flag This Comment

Jen! Why on earth would you give this movie one star? As a preschool teacher I have seen and reviewed many Disney movies and this is by far the best movie Disney has come out with since the days of Snow White and Sleeping Beauty. And The "stabbed. To DEATH" part was far from the truth. Yes the guy was stabbed, however you don't see the blade go in or come out, nor do you see any blood until she tries to heal him. If this is a movie that you dislike, then I am curious to know what movies you do like!

Gary - 12-29-2010 11:48 AM
Flag This Comment

Jen, a lot of these comments seem pretty mean to you, even calling for you to give up reviewing movies. I can only say that I saw you on TV recently, and I appreciated your reviews, especially the way you were not afraid to say that a really bad, stupid and vulgar movie (like Gulliver's Travels) is really bad, stupid and vulgar. So even though I don't really care whether or not Rapunzel is a feminist role model (and I haven't seen the movie, so I don't really know), it is a valid issue to consider, and I hope you just go on telling us your honest opinion about things, and we can choose for ourselves if we think it is the kind of movie we'd like to see.

Mac BN - 12-30-2010 10:53 PM
Flag This Comment

I think both reviewers from this website went to watch movie looking for something specific and ignored what was actually playing right in front of their eyes. "Tangled" was a great film and huge relief in a series of sub par animated films from disney over the past recent years. There are several memorable songs from this movie. It felt like this film could easily be turned into a hit broadway show. The songs were very well written and flowed with the story. This movie will be a long term success once people see it for themselves and aren't hindered by poorly written review. It's okay to be critical but this review isn't critical it is just an angry rampage that focuses on a particular opinion and fails to see the big picture.

jen haterrrrr - 12-31-2010 12:47 PM
Flag This Comment

jen ur review sucked. u suck. go crawl under a rock, a 5 year old could come up with a better review. Movies.com, you really need to get a better reviewer.

Frank - 1-01-2011 10:52 PM
Flag This Comment

I took my two year old son and his grandparents to see this movie and we all loved it. I think it's really sad that critics like Jen are placing self-empowerment as the #1 reason to take kids to go see a movie. It's obvious the reviewer doesn't have any kids. What about selflessness, humility, and integrity? The heroine was inspiring in all of these qualities, and her "hero" at the end packed the biggest punch of selflessness of all. Those are the qualities that I want instilled in my kids. Self-empowerment? Shit...HITLER was self-empowered!

Anna - 1-17-2011 4:11 PM
Flag This Comment

Don't let this poor review stop you from seeing Tangled. It was a very cute movie and contrary to Jens description, Rapunzel kicked butt. Check out meta-critics, everyone loved or at least enjoyed this movie. True no songs were that spectacular but your kids will still love it, and the "violent stabbing scene" was not violent or even graphic at all so I doubt your children will need therapy...I really loved this movie and I'm going to go see it again tonight =]

Brandon - 1-18-2011 12:04 AM
Flag This Comment

Wow 1.5 stars are you kidding me? This is one of the best shows i have seen in a long time. We must have very different taste, i would have given tangled 5 stars for sure, and true grit which you gave 5 stars i would have given 2. After leaving true grit i felt sad and depressed, after this show I felt happy and excited. Both you and the other critic have very unusual taste.

Jared - 1-29-2011 12:18 AM
Flag This Comment

Jen must have been in a horrible mood when she saw this movie...and an even worse mood when she wrote the review. I HATE animated movies and would NEVER go out of my way to pay to see a Disney movie at a theater on a friday night.... BUT my Girlfriend insisted, I gave in and in the end I LOVED this movie. I was entertained the whole time, it was hilarious and I actually found the story line to be surprisingly good. A+ rating in my book.

Vanessa - 2-21-2011 3:53 AM
Flag This Comment

ALL songs can't be memorable just by one listen unless you're an amazing talented person.. were you able to sing "under the sea" with all the lyrics right when you first watched it? or "be our guest"? or whatever songs you claimed memorable? Maybe you meant something else by memorable but I think the songs were as fun to sing as the rest of Alan Menken's creation. And I'm sure to win golden globe or what not has some.."connection" and "favoritism" as how the world evolves around. Then again, when something is loved, it's hated also..

HC - 3-12-2011 11:04 AM
Flag This Comment

Interesting review. Reads like a failed pych major's attempt to validate her education (or lack thereof). Why bother even reading her reviews - lack at them in the totality of her career. Such a negative person - if anyone is in need of therapy, it is Ms. Yamato. Use your benefits wisely while you remain employed and get into a good therapist to deal with your internal anger issues.

Corrine - 3-15-2011 10:40 PM
Flag This Comment

I disagree with this review totally. Although I do respect your opinion. What's life without a little adventure? EVERY teenager will rebel against their parents, whether step or biological, in some way. It makes for interesting and more knowledgeable adults. You must learn from your mistakes. Why do you think there is an eraser on every pencil? I will honestly hope that you do not have children, for I fear you will turn out like Gothel, overly controlling and unwilling to let your metaphorical 'chicks' out of the nest.

whaa - 3-27-2011 7:24 PM
Flag This Comment

Oh wow.. so much anger at Jen. I agree with this review. When stripped to the core, this movie really is about a teenage girl lying and rebelling against her parent, running off with a bad boy, and (the msg I hate most) if you love him and believe he loves you, then you can change a bad boy to a good one. It's an entertaining film, but I just hope that when little girls watch it, they don't think that at age 18 they should do what Rapunzel did. And, I really didn't like the songs.

Sara - 4-02-2011 2:16 PM
Flag This Comment

Your review, to say the least, wasn't very well thought out. Clearly you missed the message of the film and tried to find errors with the characters. That, or you never actually watched a disney film in your life. Every princess is accompined by a man. Hell, you can argue that Ariel wasn't much of anything, seeing as Eric was the one who killed Ursala. Or that Snow White was just as weak and needed to depend off her prince as well, even sleeping beauty. This film is a breath of fresh air when it comes to disney films. I can honestly say that I have yet to see a disney film, other then this one, that actually captured my interest and brought me back to my childhood days watching Lion King, Bambie, Lady and the Tramp. This film was rich in

Hey u really??? - 4-03-2011 7:25 AM
Flag This Comment

In my opinion this film was awesome! I have no idea what you're saying about this movie being "violent"!!!There was barely any blood!!!!! In my book you receive an F and Tangled gets an A+. But still I don't hate this reveiw as it does point out some readable points such as it's not the most memorable music film Disney has ever produced... Any way I loved the movie Tangled ( especially Max!)and I believe this film deserves five stars!!!*****(•=

spinblastr - 4-03-2011 7:41 PM
Flag This Comment

What a joyless, wretched person you must be. I feel sorry for you but more so for your children. And don't forget to take Santa from them as soon as you can, too, you drip.

Asecurity - 7-07-2011 2:52 AM
Flag This Comment

Unfortunately, the majority of the commentators' comments demonstrate exactly why spirited, lovingly-crafted movies like Princess and the Frog do poorly at the box office while genre films that have no wit, imagination or even an identity of its own receive all the admiration and financial compensation. It was as if the script writers used a “Fairytale Adventure” slot machine to generate the plot, characters and dialogue, this being one of the laziest script I’ve ever seen. This laziness seemed to have spread to the song writers as well, so as they can get the sheets and lyrics directly from their Disney music databank. Oh, how ironic it was, when courting the audience's love is actually as simple as this!

BigBro97 - 8-21-2011 1:49 PM
Flag This Comment

This review is mad! There were "memorable" songs in it. I couldn't get "I've Got a Dream" out of my head for days after little sister watched it twenty-three times in a row. Literally. I also agree with spinblastr, and you should also take the Easter Bunny and Tooth Fairy with it. This movie is the best "princess" movie by far leaving "Cinderella" and "Sleeping Beauty" in the dust. I should know because my sis USED to watch the other movies until "Tangled" showed up. Best family movie to hit the screen in quite a while.

robert - 9-29-2011 7:08 PM
Flag This Comment

movie was cliche review *didn't like the movie, here are my reasons* people commenting on review *you must be a piece of shit cause you didn't like the movie, here are my reasons why you must be shit instead of a counter argument to your claim* awesome! lol

Cassandra - 11-11-2011 3:41 PM
Flag This Comment

Wow, did you even watch the same movie I watched. Because in the Tangled I saw Rapunzel saved Flynn more than Flynn saved her. As for the weapon being a frying pan it's refered to in the movie as a good weapon, it even becomes the weapon that the guards use. I'm not saying that you're a horrible person for not liking the movie or anything like that, you're allowed to have your own opinion. What I am saying is that maybe you should think/pay attention to the movie before you write a review.

sharon - 12-18-2011 11:51 AM
Flag This Comment

this is th most boring movi vr

jamyia - 4-23-2012 2:18 PM
Flag This Comment

I Love This Movie !

jamyia - 4-23-2012 2:19 PM
Flag This Comment

Awsome Movie ! xD

Leave a Comment

Advertisement

Jen's recent reviews

All Jen Yamato's Movie Reviews