Share
RSS RSS

Film Reviews by Grae Drake

Movie maven about town

Grae Drake

Grae Drake began her love affair with cinema as a wee bairn, as she spent every weekend corralling her friends over to the local cinema to see the latest flick. Soon, her hunger for film became ravenous when she starred as an extra in the short film Alexander the Grape, directed by her high school crush that she really, really wanted to impress (she failed, by the way, but she blames the script).

Having sat through everything from The Bicycle Thief to White Chicks, she remains a cinephile with varied tastes (although she has a special love for documentary, as she believes watching them takes the place of paying for grad school). Her undergrad was spent at the University of Texas at Austin, shooting, editing, and producing films that were honored at Sundance and the Directors Guild of America.

You can keep up with Grae at her movie review podcast The Popcorn Mafia, or on Twitter at twitter.com/popcornmafia.

Advertisement
Showing all Grae's Reviews
Movie Title Rating Release Date
Zookeeper 2.0 Strangely palatable. 07/08/2011 Jul 08, 2011
Your Highness 3.0 Charmingly lowbrow with a chain mail flavor. 04/08/2011 Apr 08, 2011
Young Adult 3.5 For once, I'm glad I'm not Charlize Theron. 12/09/2011 Dec 09, 2011
X-Men: First Class 4.0 You can exhale now--this movie is mutantastic. 06/03/2011 Jun 03, 2011
Wrath of the Titans 2.0 Exceeds low expectations. 03/30/2012 Mar 30, 2012
The Woman in Black 3.5 Expecto some screamo. 02/03/2012 Feb 03, 2012
Winnie the Pooh 4.5 Sweet as Hunny 07/15/2011 Jul 15, 2011
What's Your Number? 1.0 A big ole ZERO. 09/30/2011 Sep 30, 2011
What to Expect When You're Expecting 1.0 My uterus jumped ship 05/18/2012 May 18, 2012
Weekend 4.5 Uplifting and Shirtlifting 09/23/2011 Sep 23, 2011
We Need to Talk About Kevin 4.0 Get ready for goosebumps. 01/13/2012 Jan 13, 2012
We Bought a Zoo 3.5 Sentimental Journey 12/23/2011 Dec 23, 2011
The Way Back 2.0 Completely exhausting and no pay-off 01/21/2011 Jan 21, 2011
Water for Elephants 3.0 Step right up for a charmingly old-fashioned romance. 04/22/2011 Apr 22, 2011
The Watch 1.5 Cover your eyes. 07/27/2012 Jul 27, 2012
Warrior 3.0 Like a (good) punch in the gut. 09/09/2011 Sep 09, 2011
War Horse 3.5 Makes you swear off gelatin forever. 12/25/2011 Dec 25, 2011
Wanderlust 3.0 Hemp hemp hooray! 02/24/2012 Feb 24, 2012
W.E. 3.0 A Borderline movie 02/03/2012 Feb 03, 2012
The Vow 4.0 You had me at "coma." 02/10/2012 Feb 10, 2012
A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas 4.0 An inappropriate Christmas classic. 11/04/2011 Nov 04, 2011
Unknown 3.5 Takes the winter chill off. 02/18/2011 Feb 18, 2011
Underworld: Awakening 3.0 I LIKEanthroped it. 01/20/2012 Jan 20, 2012
Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives 4.0 Truly enchanting 03/02/2011 Mar 02, 2011
Tyler Perry's Madea's Witness Protection 1.5 Madea should go Medea on Tyler Perry. 06/29/2012 Jun 29, 2012