Chug This: Full List of 2011 Fantastic Fest Award Winners

Chug This: Full List of 2011 Fantastic Fest Award Winners

Sep 27, 2011

Though the festival doesn't officially end till later this week (look for a lot more from the team in the next few days), the Fantastic Fest awards ceremony was held last night. Definitely the most unique film festival awards ceremony out there, what separates the FF awards from the rest is that each award winner must chug a beer out of their award in order to take it home. If the winners are not present, the presenter (a member of that particular jury) must then chug the beer instead. And with some categories hosting more than one award -- and with some films winning more than one award -- there were a few (like JoBlo's Mike Sampson and You're Next screenwriter/producer Simon Barrett) who had to chug like four beers in the span of a couple minutes. Our hats are off to them as we imagine this morning was not a pretty one for either man.

But onto the winners. Fest favorites You're Next and A Boy and His Samurai took home the night's big awards, while Clown and Bullhead also made an impressive showing. Check out all the winners below, some of which you'll be seeing reviews of over the course of the next few days. And for more on Fantastic Fest, here's all our coverage in one spot.

AUDIENCE AWARD (Presented by Maxwell Locke & Ritter)

A Boy And His Samurai (Yoshihiro Nakamura)

Runners Up: You're Next, Juan Of The Dead


Best Picture - Bullhead

Best Director - Michael R. Roskam (Bullhead)

Best Screenplay - Josh MacDonald (The Corridor)

Best Actor - Matthias Schoenaerts (Bullhead)

Best Actress - Jessica Cole (Aardvark)

Special Jury Award for Boldness Of Vision: Beyond The Black Rainbow


Best Picture - You're Next

Best Director - Adam Wingard (You're Next)

Best Screenplay - Simon Barrett (You're Next)

Best Actor - Sean Harris (A Lonely Place To Die)

Best Actress - Sharni Vinson (You're Next)


Best Picture - Milocrorze: A Love Story

Best Director - Noboru Iguchi (Karate Robo Zaborgar)

Best Screenplay - Olafur Egilsson, Grimur Haonarson (Summerland)

Best Actor - Julián Villagrán (Extraterrestrial)

Best Actress - Sawa Masaki (Underwater Love)


Best Picture - Clown

Best Director - Steffen Haars, Flip Van Der Kuil (New Kids Turbo)

Best Screenplay - Casper Christensen, Frank Hvam (Clown)


Winner: How To Rid Your Lover Of A Negative Emotion Caused By You (Nadia Litz)

Runner-up: The Unliving (Hugo Lilj)

Special Jury Award for Outstanding Achievement in Special Effects and General Badassery: Brutal Relax (David Muñoz, Rafa Dengrá, Adrián Cardona)


Best Fantastic Short: Decapoda Shock (Javier Chillón)

Runner-up: All Men Are Called Robert (Marc-Henri Boulier)

Special Jury Mention for Acting: Robert Picardo (The Candidate)


Best Animated Short: Last Norwegian Troll (Pjotr Sapegin)

Runner-up: Lazarov (NIETOV)

Categories: Awards, Film Festivals
blog comments powered by Disqus

Facebook on

The Burning Question

Which one of these people is in the movie Justice League?

  • Geoffrey Rush
  • Stephen Graham
  • Gal Gadot
  • Kaya Scodelario
Get Answer Get New Question

Gal Gadot