Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Mother and Child Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Writer/director [[Performer~P91005~Rodrigo García~rodrigogarcía]] ([[Feature~V319601~Nine Lives~ninelives]]) teams with executive producer [[Performer~P297411~Alejandro González Iñárritu~alejandrogonzáleziñárritu]] to craft this drama highlighting the powerful bond between mothers and daughters. It's been years since Karen ([[Performer~P5346~Annette Bening~annettebening]]) gave her daughter, Elizabeth, up for adoption, and the decision to abandon her child has always haunted her. Upon meeting laid-back Paco ([[Performer~P66622~Jimmy Smits~jimmysmits]]), Karen permits her anxiety and mistrust to get the best of her. On the surface it appears that Elizabeth ([[Performer~P75056~Naomi Watts~naomiwatts]]) is none the worse for never knowing her biological mother; she's a fast-talking lawyer who's just landed a high-profile job at a firm fronted by Paul ([[Performer~P34866~Samuel L. Jackson~samuelljackson]]), though her unsavory penchant for exploiting others is about to blow up in her face. Meanwhile, maternal-minded baker Lucy ([[Performer~P281843~Kerry Washington~kerrywashington]]) longs to experience the joys of motherhood, eventually deciding that adoption is the best bet to start a family with her husband, Joseph ([[Performer~P264345~David Ramsey~davidramsey]]). ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:May 7, 2010

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Naomi Watts Best Supporting Female 2010 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Samuel L. Jackson Best Supporting Male 2010 Nominee

Cast

Naomi Watts
as Elizabeth
Annette Bening
as Karen
Kerry Washington
as Lucy
Jimmy Smits
as Paco
Samuel L. Jackson
as Paul
David Ramsey
as Joseph
Eileen Ryan
as Nora
Cherry Jones
as Sister Joanne
Kay D'Arcy
as Karen's Hydrotherapy Patient
Elpidia Carrillo
as Sofia
Carla Gallo
as Tracy
Marc Blucas
as Steven
S. Epatha Merkerson
as Ada
La Tanya Richardson
as Carol
Shareeka Epps
as Ray
David Morse
as Tom
Amy Brenneman
as Dr. Eleanor Stone
Tatyana Ali
as Maria
Ahmed Best
as Julian
Veronica Welch
as Paul's Sister
Dawn Deibert
as Judge
Gloria Garayua
as Melissa
Elizabeth Peña
as Amanda
Lawrence Pressman
as Dr. Morgan
Brittany Robertson
as Violet
Lisa Gay Hamilton
as Leticia
Eugene Collier
as Hospital Security Guard

Crew

Rodrigo García
Director
Lisa Maria Falcone
Producer
Julie Lynn
Producer
Rodrigo García
Screenwriter
Xavier Pérez Grobet
Cinematographer
Ed Shearmur
Composer (Music Score)
Steven Weisberg
Editor
Christopher Tandon
Production Designer
Jonathan McCoy
Co-producer
Tom Heller
Associate Producer
Alejandro González Iñárritu
Executive Producer
Andy Nelson
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Devlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Heidi Levitt
Casting
Kurt Bryant
Stunts Coordinator
Jonathan McCoy
Unit Production Manager
Advertisement