Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Mosquito Coast Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P123374~Harrison Ford~harrisonford]] delivers one of his most-acclaimed performances in [[Feature~V81678~Peter Weir~peterweir]]'s adaptation of [[Performer~P167432~Paul Theroux~paultheroux]]'s novel (scripted by [[Performer~P110362~Paul Schrader~paulschrader]]). Ford plays Allie Fox, an inventor embittered by the blighted landscape of the contemporary United States. As he tells his oldest son, Charlie ([[Performer~P56631~River Phoenix~riverphoenix]]), "Look around you. It's a toilet." He moves his wife ([[Performer~P49576~Helen Mirren~helenmirren]]) and kids -- Charlie, Jerry ([[Performer~P67820~Jadrien Steele~jadriensteele]]), April ([[Performer~P27793~Hilary Gordon~hilarygordon]]), and Clover ([[Performer~P27822~Rebecca Gordon~rebeccagordon]]) -- to the rain forests of Central America, where he plans to create a new civilization starting with his own nuclear family. Allie's family compliantly goes along with his scheme to build a free society, but slowly notices that his obsession has turned him into a tyrannical fascist. Rather than create a utopia, Allie's driving egomania demands total subservience from his downtrodden brood. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:November 26, 1986

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Harrison Ford Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1986 Nominee

Cast

Harrison Ford
as Allie Fox
Helen Mirren
as Mother
River Phoenix
as Charlie
Jadrien Steele
as Jerry
Hilary Gordon
as April
Rebecca Gordon
as Clover
Andre Gregory
as Rev. Spellgood
Dick O'Neill
as Mr. Polski
Martha Plimpton
as Emily Spellgood
Melanie Boland
as Mrs. Spellgood
Michael Rogers
as Francis Lungly
Rafael Cho
as Leon
Alice Sneed
as Mrs. Polski
Tiger Haynes
as Mr. Semper
Raymond Clare
as 1st Convert
Butterfly McQueen
as Ma Kennysick
Abel Woolrich
as Mercenary
Jorge Zepeda
as Mercenary
Jason Alexander
as Clerk
Margaret Cho
as Verny
William Newman
as Capt. Smalls
Juan Antonio Llanes
as Mercenary
Wilfred Peters
as Dixon
Aurora Clavel
as Mrs. Maywit
Dianne Crittenden
Emory King
as Man at Bar
Conrad Roberts
as Mr. Haddy

Crew

Peter Weir
Director
Jerome Hellman
Producer
Saul Zaentz
Producer
Paul Theroux
Book Author
Paul Schrader
Screenwriter
John Seale
Cinematographer
David Burr
Cinematographer
Maurice Jarre
Composer (Music Score)
Thom Noble
Editor
Richard Francis-Bruce
Editor
John Stoddart
Production Designer
John Wingrove
Art Director
Saul Zaentz
Executive Producer
Gary Jones
Costume Designer
Lawrence James Cavanaugh
Special Effects
Alan Splet
Supervising Sound Editor
Michael Dennison
Costumes Supervisor
Advertisement