Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Monty Python and the Holy Grail Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

From its opening multi-language titles (that sure looks like Swedish) to the closing arrest of the entire Dark Ages cast by modern-day bobbies, Monty Python and the Holy Grail helped to define "irreverence" and became an instant cult classic. This time the [[Performer~P50219~Pythonites~montypython]] savage the legend of King Arthur, juxtaposing some excellently selected exterior locations with an unending stream of anachronistic one-liners, non sequiturs, and slapstick set pieces. The Knights of the Round Table set off in search of the Holy Grail on foot, as their lackeys make clippety-clop sounds with coconut shells. A plague-ridden community, ringing with the cry of "bring out your dead," offers its hale and hearty citizens to the body piles. A wedding of convenience is attacked by Arthur's minions while the pasty-faced groom continually attempts to burst into song. The good guys are nearly thwarted by the dreaded, tree-shaped "Knights Who Say Ni!" A feisty enemy warrior, bloodily shorn of his arms and legs in the thick of battle, threatens to bite off his opponent's kneecap. A French military officer shouts such taunts as "I fart in your general direction" and "I wave my private parts at your aunties." Rabbits are a particular obsession of the writers this time around, ranging from the huge Trojan Rabbit to the "killer bunny" that decapitates one of the knights. [[Performer~P84701~Graham Chapman~grahamchapman]], [[Performer~P85223~John Cleese~johncleese]], [[Performer~P91577~Terry Gilliam~terrygilliam]], [[Performer~P95365~Eric Idle~ericidle]], [[Performer~P96368~Terry Jones~terryjones]], and [[Performer~P105433~Michael Palin~michaelpalin]] collaborated on the script and assumed most of the onscreen roles, while [[Performer~P91577~Gilliam~terrygilliam]] and [[Performer~P96368~Jones~terryjones]] served as co-directors. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:April 1, 1975

Cast

Graham Chapman
as King Arthur
John Cleese
as Sir Lancelot
Terry Gilliam
as Patsy/Soothsayer
Eric Idle
as Sir Robin
Terry Jones
as Sir Bedevere
Michael Palin
as Sir Galahad
Michael Palin
as 1st Soldier with a Keen Interest in Birds
Michael Palin
as Dennis
Michael Palin
as King
Michael Palin
as Knight
Terry Gilliam
as Old Man from Scene 24
John Cleese
as Black Knight
John Cleese
as French
Eric Idle
as Concorde
Eric Idle
as Guard
Eric Idle
as Maynard
Eric Idle
as Roger
Graham Chapman
as Hiccoughing Guard
Graham Chapman
as Three-Headed Knight
Sally Kinghorn
as Either Winston or Piglet
Bee Duffell
as Old Crone to Whom King Arthur Said "Ni--"
Terry Jones
as Dennis's Mother
Terry Jones
as Prin
Terry Jones
as Three-Headed Knight
Rita Davies
as Historian Who Isn't A.J.P. Taylor, Honestly's, Wife
John Young
as Dead person, Historian
Neil Innes
as Minstrel, + minor role
Carol Cleveland
as Zoot/Dingo
Connie Booth
as The Witch

Crew

Terry Gilliam
Director
Terry Jones
Director
Michael White
Producer
Mark Forstater
Producer
Terry Gilliam
Screenwriter
Terry Jones
Screenwriter
Eric Idle
Screenwriter
Graham Chapman
Screenwriter
John Cleese
Screenwriter
Michael Palin
Screenwriter
Terry Bedford
Cinematographer
Neil Innes
Composer (Music Score)
De Wolfe
Composer (Music Score)
John Goldstone
Executive Producer
Hazel Pethig
Costume Designer
Julian Doyle
Special Effects
Howard Atherton
Camera Operator
Leo Kharibian
Choreography
Advertisement