Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mon Oncle d'Amérique Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P108005~Alain Resnais~alainresnais]]'s Mon Oncle D'Amerique is presented in the form of a "case history," replete with a pedantic narrator, played by real-life behavioral scientist [[Performer~P39879~Henri Laborit~profhenrilaborit]]. [[Performer~P87517~Gerald Depardieu~gérarddepardieu]] plays a plant manager whose behavior is inspired by the films of "macho" French film star [[Performer~P25439~Jean Gabin~jeangabin]]. [[Performer~P91002~Nicole Garcia~nicolegarcia]] portrays an actress who has patterned her conduct after stage and film luminary [[Performer~P45265~Jean Marais~jeanmarais]]. And Roger-Pierre is a TV executive whose main influence in life is lovely cinema actress [[Performer~P17063~Danielle Darrieux~danielledarrieux]]. Though it may sound like a [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]] comedy, Mon Oncle D'Amerique eschews satire for the most part, treating both its subject matter and its subjects with intense seriousness. The film scored a hit with moviegoers and critics alike, and was honored with six French Cesar Awards. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:May 21, 1980

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jean Gruault Best Original Screenplay 1980 Nominee

Crew

Alain Resnais
Director
Philippe Dussart
Producer
Jean Gruault
Screenwriter
Sacha Vierny
Cinematographer
Arie Dzierlatka
Composer (Music Score)
Albert Jurgenson
Editor
Jacques Saulnier
Art Director
Jacques Saulnier
Set Designer
Catherine Leterrier
Costume Designer
Jean-Pierre Ruh
Sound/Sound Designer
Jacques Maumont
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement