Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Misery Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Adapted from a [[Performer~P97473~Stephen King~stephenking]] novel, [[Performer~P107886~Rob Reiner~robreiner]]'s Misery cast [[Performer~P83766~James Caan~jamescaan]] as a writer at a career crossroads. The film opens with Paul Sheldon ([[Performer~P83766~Caan~jamescaan]]) completing work on his latest novel, a break from his popular series of novels featuring the character Misery Chastain. He gets into a severe car accident and is saved by Annie Wilkes ([[Performer~P4516~Kathy Bates~kathybates]]), a reclusive woman who nurses him back to health. Annie is a huge fan of the Misery novels, and she finishes reading the new one while Paul is convalescing. She becomes enraged when she discovers that Paul has killed off Misery. Annie injures Paul's foot severely so that he is unable to leave her house, and forces him to write a new Misery novel. A local sheriff ([[Performer~P22732~Richard Farnsworth~richardfarnsworth]]) and Paul's agent ([[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]]) both attempt to track down what happened to the missing author. Misery shot the relatively unknown [[Performer~P4516~Kathy Bates~kathybates]] to stardom, winning her one of the few Best Actress Oscars ever bestowed for portraying an evil character. ~ Perry Seibert, Rovi

  • Release date:November 30, 1990

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Kathy Bates Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1990 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Kathy Bates Best Actress 1990 Winner

Cast

James Caan
as Paul Sheldon
Kathy Bates
as Annie Wilkes
Frances Sternhagen
as Virginia
Richard Farnsworth
as Buster
Lauren Bacall
as Marcia Sindell
Graham Jarvis
as Libby
J.T. Walsh
as Park Ranger (uncredited)
Janet Hirshenson
Greg Snegoff
as Reporter
Jerry Potter
as Pete
Wendy Bowers
as Waitress
Archie Hahn III
June Christopher
as Anchorwoman
Julie Payne
as Reporter #1
Rob Reiner
as Helicopter Pilot (uncredited)
Jane Jenkins
Tom Brunelle
as Anchorman

Crew

Rob Reiner
Director
Stephen King
Book Author
William Goldman
Screenwriter
Barry Sonnenfeld
Cinematographer
Marc Shaiman
Composer (Music Score)
Robert Leighton
Editor
Norman Garwood
Production Designer
Mark Mansbridge
Art Director
Jeffrey Stott
Co-producer
Steve Nicolaides
Co-producer
Andrew Scheinman
Co-producer
Rob Reiner
Co-producer
Stan Tropp
Set Designer
Gloria Gresham
Costume Designer
David R. Ellis
Stunts
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Steve Nicolaides
Production Manager
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Advertisement