Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Minority Report Details


Based on a short story by the late Philip K. Dick, this science fiction-thriller reflects the writer's familiar preoccupation with themes of concealed identity and mind control. Tom Cruise stars as John Anderton, a Washington, D.C. detective in the year 2054. Anderton works for "Precrime," a special unit of the police department that arrests murderers before they have committed the actual crime. Precrime bases its work on the visions of three psychics or "precogs" whose prophecies of future events are never in error. When Anderton discovers that he has been identified as the future killer of a man he's never met, he is forced to become a fugitive from his own colleagues as he tries to uncover the mystery of the victim-to-be's identity. When he kidnaps Agatha (Samantha Morton), one of the precogs, he begins to formulate a theory about a possible frame-up from within his own department. Directed by Steven Spielberg, who hired a team of futurists to devise the film's numerous technologically advanced gadgets, Minority Report co-stars Colin Farrell, Max von Sydow, and Neal McDonough. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:June 21, 2002


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Richard Hymns Best Sound Editing 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association John Williams Best Composer 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association John Williams Best Score 2003 Winner
Broadcast Film Critics Association Steven Spielberg Best Director 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Steven Spielberg Best Director 2003 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gary Rydstrom Best Sound Editing 2002 Nominee


Tom Cruise
as Officer John Anderton
Colin Farrell
as Danny Witwer
Samantha Morton
as Agatha
Max von Sydow
as Director Lamar Burgess
Lois Smith
as Dr. Iris Hineman
Peter Stormare
as Dr. Solomon Eddie
Tim Blake Nelson
as Gideon
Steve Harris
as Jad
Kathryn Morris
as Lara Clarke
Mike Binder
as Leo Crow
Daniel London
as Wally the Caretaker
Spencer Treat Clark
as Sean at nine
Neal McDonough
as Fletcher
Jessica Capshaw
as Evanna
Patrick Kilpatrick
as Knott
Jessica Harper
as Anne Lively
Ashley Crow
as Sarah Marks
Arye Gross
as Howard Marks
Jason Antoon
as Rufus Riley
Joel Gretsch
Caroline Lagerfelt
Victor Raider-Wexler
Dominic Scott Kay


Steven Spielberg
Bonnie Curtis
Gerald R. Molen
Jan de Bont
Walter Parkes
Scott Frank
Janusz Kaminski
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Kahn
Alex McDowell
Production Designer
Chris Gorak
Supervising Art Director
Ramsey Avery
Art Director
Leslie McDonald
Art Director
Sergio Mimica-Gezzan
Associate Producer
Michael Doven
Associate Producer
Ronald Shusett
Executive Producer
Gary Goldman
Executive Producer
Maya Shimoguchi
Set Designer
Hugo Santiago
Set Designer
Anne Kuljian
Set Designer
A. Todd Holland
Set Designer
Aric Lasher
Set Designer
Deborah L. Scott
Costume Designer
Ronald Judkins
Sound/Sound Designer
Gary Rydstrom
Sound/Sound Designer
Sergio Mimica-Gezzan
First Assistant Director
Denise Chamian
Gary Rydstrom
Supervising Sound Editor
Scott Farrar
Visual Effects Supervisor
Philip K. Dick
Short Story Author
Brian Smrz
Stunts Coordinator
Richard Hymns
Supervising Sound Editor