Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Me Without You Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The joys and horrors of female friendship are explored in writer/director [[Performer~P241075~Sandra Goldbacher~sandragoldbacher]]'s Me Without You. Bold, brash, and fashionable Marina (played by [[Performer~P319268~Anna Popplewell~annapopplewell]] as a child, and [[Performer~P235480~Anna Friel~annafriel]] as a teen and adult) comes from a broken home. Her mother, Linda ([[Performer~P68898~Trudie Styler~trudiestyler]], who executive produced [[Performer~P242801~Guy Ritchie~guyritchie]]'s first two films, and is also [[Performer~P112828~Sting~sting]]'s wife) is a hip young divorcée who apologizes every time she yells at her children. Holly ([[Performer~P365155~Ella Jones~ellajones]] as a child, [[Performer~P198320~Michelle Williams~michellewilliams]] of [[Feature~V160210~Dawson's Creek~dawsonscreek[tvseries]]] and [[Feature~V180401~Dick~dick]] as a teen and adult) is a timid bookworm, mildly ashamed of her Jewishness, and easily goaded into more outrageous behavior by Marina. Holly's mother ([[Performer~P23475~Deborah Findlay~deborahfindlay]]) tells her early on not to expect too much from men. She helps lower her daughter's expectations by telling her, "Some people are pretty people, and some are clever people, which is more important than looks." As girls in the early '70s, Marina and Holly form a pact to become "Harina," inseparable best friends. Next-door neighbors, they are never apart for long. But Holly harbors a secret crush on Marina's older brother, Nat ([[Performer~P197050~Oliver Milburn~olivermilburn]]), and when the girls are teens, and Marina finds out about Holly's feelings, she does her best to keep the two apart. In college, when Holly bonds with a lit-crit professor, Daniel ([[Performer~P44254~Kyle Maclachlan~kylemaclachlan]]), over [[Performer~P113668~Andrei Tarkovsky~andreitarkovsky]] and [[Performer~P81548~Ingmar Bergman~ingmarbergman]], Holly feels compelled to sabotage their budding relationship, by seducing Daniel first. Eventually, Nat, despite his lingering fondness for Holly, gets seriously involved with a French actress, Isabel ([[Performer~P18582~Marianne Denicourt~mariannedenicourt]]). As the girls get older, their differences become more apparent to Holly, and she begins to question their friendship. The film covers three decades, with songs and costumes appropriate to each era. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:July 5, 2002

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Sandra Goldbacher Best British Film 2001 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Finola Dwyer Best British Film 2001 Nominee

Cast

Anna Friel
as Marina
Michelle Williams
as Holly
Kyle MacLachlan
as Daniel
Oliver Milburn
as Nat
Trudie Styler
as Linda
Marianne Denicourt
as Isabel
Nicky Henson
as Ray
Alan Corduner
as Max
Deborah Findlay
as Judith
Steve John Shepherd
as Carl
Ella Jones
as Young Holly
Anna Popplewell
as Young Marina

Crew

Sandra Goldbacher
Director
Finola Dwyer
Producer
Sandra Goldbacher
Screenwriter
Laurence Coriat
Screenwriter
Adrian Johnston
Composer (Music Score)
Advertisement