Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mesa of Lost Women Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Mutated spiders, mad geniuses, childlike mental patients, gold-digging blondes, and vengeful little people are only part of the madness in this legendary bit of oddball science fiction. Grant ([[Performer~P38745~Robert Knapp~robertknapp]]) and Doreen ([[Performer~P32329~Mary Hill~maryhill]]) wander into a shack in the wastelands of Mexico's Muerto Desert, where the sunburned and dehydrated pair tell their tale to a surveyor for an American petroleum firm. Grant was working as a pilot for millionaire businessman Jan Van Croft ([[Performer~P41724~Nico Lek~nicolek]]), who was to marry the much younger Doreen when engine trouble stranded them in a Mexican border town. Jan and Doreen were killing time in a roadhouse when they were joined by the eccentric Dr. Leland Masterson ([[Performer~P211427~Harmon Stevens~harmonstevens]]), who had recently escaped from a mental hospital. Before Masterson's nurse, George ([[Performer~P4241~George Barrows~georgebarrows]]), can lure his patient back to the hospital, Masterson pulls a gun and shoots entertainer Tarantella ([[Performer~P58301~Tandra Quinn~tandraquinn]]) while she performs a wild dance routine; Masterson then takes Jan and Doreen hostage and demands that Grant fly them away. Further engine trouble strands the traveling party on a mesa, where they discover a handful of strange, tiny men and statuesque women. In time, we discover that Masterson knows the story behind the Mesa's unusual residents -- they're the products of a series of experiments by Dr. Aranya ([[Performer~P14674~Jackie Coogan~jackiecoogan]]), whose research into the pituitary glands of spiders has produced unusual results. The only screen credit for screenwriter and co-director [[Performer~P70400~Herbert Tevos~herberttevos]] (who helmed the project with Southern exploitation icon [[Performer~P105157~Ron Ormond~ronormond]]), Mesa of Lost Women also features a memorably irritating guitar-and-piano score and a brief appearance by [[Performer~P25300~Dolores Fuller~doloresfuller]], best known for her work with one-time beau [[Performer~P117260~Edward D. Wood Jr.~edwarddwoodjr]] ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 17, 1953

Cast

Jackie Coogan
as Dr. Aranya
Richard Travis
as Dan Mulcahey
Allan Nixon
as "Doc" Tucker
Robert Knapp
as Grant Phillips
Chris-Pin Martin
as Pepe
John Martin
as Frank
Lyle Talbot
as Narrator

Crew

Karl Struss
Cinematographer
Gilbert Warrenton
Cinematographer
Hoyt Curtin
Composer (Music Score)
Hugh Wynn
Editor
Joy N. Houck, Jr.
Executive Producer
Advertisement