Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Men and Women Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Will Prescott ([[Performer~P19343~Richard Dix~richarddix]]) is a bank cashier whose assistant, Ned Seabury ([[Performer~P29979~Neil Hamilton~neilhamilton]]), has made a killing in the stock market. With his newfound riches, Seabury proceeds to woo Prescott's wife, Agnes ([[Performer~P259~Claire Adams~claireadams]]), by buying her luxurious items that her husband can not afford. Seabury makes no secret of his aim, and Prescott desperately steals some of the bank's bonds, hoping to make enough money to keep Agnes by his side. He invests the bonds with Seabury's broker, Arnold Kirke ([[Performer~P68009~Henry Stephenson~henrystephenson]]), but they're wiped out. Kirke kills himself, and when bank president Culman ([[Performer~P21158~Robert Edeson~robertedeson]]) finds the bonds missing, he blames Seabury. Although it is tempting to let Seabury hang, Prescott fesses up. He is thrown in jail, but the repentant Agnes begs Culman to give him another chance. He does, and sends Prescott and Agnes to South America to manage his coffee plantation. This drama was based on a turn-of-the-century stage play by [[Performer~P216633~David Belasco~davidbelasco]] and Henry C. DeMille. Henry C. DeMille's elder son, [[Performer~P87148~William C. DeMille~williamcdemille]], directed (his younger son was filmmaker [[Performer~P87147~Cecil B. DeMille~cecilbdemille]]). ~ Janiss Garza, Rovi

Cast

Richard Dix
as Will Prescott
Claire Adams
as Agnes Prescott
Neil Hamilton
as Ned Seabury
Robert Edeson
as Marco Culman
Henry Stephenson
as Arnold Kirke
Flora Finch
as Cousin Kate

Crew

William C. DeMille
Director
William C. DeMille
Producer
Adolph Zukor
Presented by
Jesse Lasky
Presented by
Advertisement