Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Melinda and Melinda Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

While [[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]] has long fused comedy and drama in his films, he embraces the two styles in a new and unusual way in this feature. Sy ([[Performer~P64973~Wallace Shawn~wallaceshawn]]) is enjoying dinner with some friends when they begin debating the nature of the tragic and the humorous. Sy, observing that a very fine line separates the two, decides to demonstrate this notion by showing how the same essential story can be either funny or sad depending on the way certain elements are handled; for the rest of the film, we jump back and forth between two versions of the story of Melinda ([[Performer~P235577~Radha Mitchell~radhamitchell]]), a young woman with some serious problems in her life. In the tragic version, Melinda crashes a dinner party thrown by old friends Laurel ([[Performer~P230831~Chloë Sevigny~chloësevigny]]) and Lee ([[Performer~P200487~Jonny Lee Miller~jonnyleemiller]]). When she arrives, Melinda is distraught and under the influence of pills and alcohol, much to the annoyance of Lee, an actor hoping to impress a producer who is one of his guests. After a bad breakup with her husband, Melinda lost custody of her children and came to New York City, where she became involved with Ellis Moonsong ([[Performer~P272779~Chiwetel Ejiofor~chiwetelejiofor]]), a handsome and well-mannered composer whose promises to her proved to be worthless. Meanwhile, on the funny side of town, Melinda shows up dazed and confused at the home of Susan ([[Performer~P215968~Amanda Peet~amandapeet]]) and Hobie ([[Performer~P224449~Will Ferrell~willferrell]]), who are in the midst of a dinner party. Learning about the sad state of Melinda's love life after divorcing her husband and losing custody of her children, Susan decides to play Cupid and fix her friend up with a well-to-do dentist. However, neither Susan nor Melinda are aware that there is another man deeply interested in the troubled divorcée -- Hobie. Melinda and Melinda also features [[Performer~P8657~Josh Brolin~joshbrolin]], [[Performer~P239177~Vinessa Shaw~vinessashaw]], and noted theatrical director [[Performer~P109574~Gene Saks~genesaks]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 18, 2005

Cast

Radha Mitchell
as Melinda
Chloë Sevigny
as Laurel
Jonny Lee Miller
as Lee
Will Ferrell
as Hobie
Amanda Peet
as Susan
Chiwetel Ejiofor
as Ellis
Wallace Shawn
as Sy
Josh Brolin
as Greg
Gene Saks
Vinessa Shaw
as Stacey
Honggang Li
as Shanghai Quartet
Andy Borowitz
as Doug
Brooke Smith
as Cassie
Yi-Wen Jiang
as Shanghai Quartet
Neil Pepe
as Al
Rob Buntzen
as Antique Shop Owner
Geoffrey Nauffts
as Bud
Christina Kirk
as Jennifer
Nicholas Tzavaras
as Shanghai Quartet
Katie Kreisler
as Director
Arija Bareikis
as Sally
Larry Pine
as Max
Daniel Sunjata
as Billy
David Aaron Baker
as Steve
Matt Servitto
as Jack
Shalom Harlow
as Joan
Alyssa Pridham
as Acting Student
Steve Carell
as Walt
Zak Orth
as Peter
Quincy Rose
as 2nd A.D.
Stephanie Roth Haberle
as Louise
Michele Durning
as Party Guest
Weigang Li
as Shanghai Quartet

Crew

Woody Allen
Director
Letty Aronson
Producer
Woody Allen
Screenwriter
Vilmos Zsigmond
Cinematographer
Alisa Lepselter
Editor
Santo Loquasto
Production Designer
Tom Warren
Art Director
Stephen Tenenbaum
Executive Producer
Helen Robin
Executive Producer
Charles H. Joffe
Executive Producer
Regina Graves
Set Decorator
Judy Ruskin
Costume Designer
Gary Alper
Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Patrick
First Assistant Director
Juliet Taylor
Casting
Ed Ferraro
Standby Carpenter
Ron Petagna
Head Carpenter
Advertisement