Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Meek's Cutoff Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A braggart meets his match in a courageous woman in this period drama from independent filmmaker [[Performer~P107843~Kelly Reichardt~kellyreichardt]]. It's 1845, and Stephen Meek ([[Performer~P28600~Bruce Greenwood~brucegreenwood]]) is a boastful, rough-hewn wilderness guide who has been hired by three families who want to start new lives on the other side of Oregon's Cascade Mountains. Meek constantly tells his charges that he knows the Oregon Trail like the back of his hand, but when they veer off for a shortcut he says is foolproof, they soon find themselves in forbidding territory, without water and with Indians on the horizon. While the men of the party travel with Meek, their wives are made to follow them in a separate wagon, and Emily Tetherow ([[Performer~P198320~Michelle Williams~michellewilliams]]), the strong-willed wife of Solomon Tetherow ([[Performer~P55464~Will Patton~willpatton]]), begins openly questioning Meek's competence among the other women, especially her friend Millie Gately ([[Performer~P515446~Zoe Kazan~zoekazan]]). While making their way through the wilderness, the party happens upon a Cayuse Indian ([[Performer~P386322~Rod Rondeaux~rodrondeaux]]); Meek captures the Indian and proposes they kill him, but Emily bravely speaks up for him, believing he has the right to live and perhaps the knowledge to lead them safely over the mountains. Meek's Cutoff was an official selection at the 2010 New York Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:April 8, 2011

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Anish Savjani Producers Award 2010 Winner

Cast

Michelle Williams
as Emily Tetherow
Bruce Greenwood
as Stephen Meek
Will Patton
as Solomon Tetherow
Zoe Kazan
as Millie Gately
Paul Dano
as Thomas Gately
Shirley Henderson
as Glory White
Neal Huff
as William White
Tommy Nelson
as Jimmy White
Rod Rondeaux
as The Indian

Crew

Kelly Reichardt
Director
Neil Kopp
Producer
Anish Savjani
Producer
Elizabeth Cuthrell
Producer
David Urrutia
Producer
Jon Raymond
Screenwriter
Jeff Grace
Composer (Music Score)
Kelly Reichardt
Editor
David Doernberg
Production Designer
Todd Haynes
Executive Producer
Mike S. Ryan
Executive Producer
Rajen Savjani
Executive Producer
Phil Morrison
Executive Producer
Laura Rosenthal
Executive Producer
Victoria Farrell
Costume Designer
Leslie Shatz
Sound/Sound Designer
Felix Andrew
Sound Mixer
Laura Rosenthal
Casting
Advertisement