Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mean Creek Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Independent filmmaker [[Performer~P386003~Jacob Aaron Estes~jacobaaronestes]] makes his feature debut with the coming-of-age drama Mean Creek. [[Performer~P281362~Rory Culkin~roryculkin]], [[Performer~P295891~Ryan Kelley~ryankelley]], [[Performer~P371065~Scott Mechlowicz~scottmechlowicz]], [[Performer~P275789~Josh Peck~joshpeck]], [[Performer~P237591~Trevor Morgan~trevormorgan]], and [[Performer~P359574~Carly Schroeder~carlyschroeder]] are teenagers living in small-town Oregon. Some of the boys take a boat trip for a birthday celebration. When they get an idea to play a mean trick on the town bully, it suddenly goes too far. Soon they're forced to deal with the unexpected consequences of their actions. Mean Creek was workshopped at the Eugene O'Neill Center's National Playwrights Conference and premiered at the Sundance Film Festival as part of the American Spectrum program. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:January 15, 2004

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Josh Peck Special Distinction 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Scott Mechlowicz Special Distinction 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Rory Culkin Special Distinction 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Trevor Morgan Special Distinction 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Jacob Aaron Estes John Cassavetes Award 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Ryan Kelley Special Distinction 2004 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Carly Schroeder Special Distinction 2004 Winner

Cast

Rory Culkin
as Sam
Ryan Kelley
as Clyde
Scott Mechlowicz
as Marty
Trevor Morgan
as Rocky
Josh Peck
as George
Carly Schroeder
as Millie

Crew

Jacob Aaron Estes
Director
Hagai Shaham
Producer
Rick Rosenthal
Producer
Jacob Aaron Estes
Screenwriter
Sharone Meir
Cinematographer
Robin Urdang
Musical Direction/Supervision
Tomandandy
Composer (Music Score)
Madeleine Gavin
Editor
Greg McMickle
Production Designer
Betsy Goslin
Art Director
Jacob Mosler
Co-producer
Dessie Markovsky
Associate Producer
Ryan Peterson
Associate Producer
Nancy Stephens
Executive Producer
Gigi Pritzker
Executive Producer
Cynthia Morrill
Costume Designer
Michael Cottrell
Sound/Sound Designer
Emile Razpopov
Sound/Sound Designer
Jacob Mosler
First Assistant Director
Matthew Lessall
Casting
Advertisement