Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

McCabe & Mrs. Miller Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Memorably described by [[Performer~P187986~Pauline Kael~paulinekael]] as "a beautiful pipe dream of a movie," [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]]'s McCabe & Mrs. Miller reimagines the American West as a muddy frontier filled with hustlers, opportunists, and corporate sharks -- a turn-of-the-century model for a 1971 America mired in violence and lies. John McCabe ([[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]]) wanders into the turn-of-the-century wilderness village known as Presbyterian Church, with vague plans of parlaying his gambling winnings into establishing a fancy casino-brothel-bathhouse. McCabe's business partner is prostitute Mrs. Miller ([[Performer~P13030~Julie Christie~juliechristie]]), who despite her apparent distaste for McCabe helps him achieve his goal. Once McCabe and Mrs. Miller become successful, the town grows and prospers, incurring the jealousy of a local mining company that wants to buy McCabe out. Filmed on location in Canada, McCabe & Mrs. Miller makes use of such [[Performer~P79456~Altman~robertaltman]] "stock company" performers as [[Performer~P20847~Shelley Duvall~shelleyduvall]], [[Performer~P119~René Auberjonois~renéauberjonois]], John Schuck, and [[Performer~P84256~Keith Carradine~keithcarradine]]. The seemingly improvised screenplay was based on a novel by [[Performer~P313432~Edmund Naughton~edmundnaughton]] and the movie features a soundtrack of songs by [[Performer~P85415~Leonard Cohen~leonardcohen]]. McCabe & Mrs. Miller joined such other [[Performer~P79456~Altman~robertaltman]] efforts as [[Feature~V64361~M*A*S*H~mash]], The Long Goodbye, and [[Feature~V113290~Thieves Like Us~thieveslikeus]] in radically revising familiar movie genres for the disillusioned Vietnam era. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 24, 1971

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Julie Christie Best Actress 1971 Nominee

Cast

Warren Beatty
as John McCabe
Julie Christie
as Constance Miller
René Auberjonois
as Sheehan
William Devane
as Lawyer
Shelley Duvall
as Ida Coyle
John Schuck
as Smalley
Keith Carradine
as Cowboy
Janet Wright
as Eunice
Terence Kelly
as Quigley
Jeremy Newson
as Jeremy Berg
Elizabeth Murphy
as Kate
Hugh Millais
as Butler
Robert Fortier
as Town Drunk
Eric Schneider
as Townsperson
Jackie Crossland
as Lily
Rodney Gage
as Summer Washington
Wayne Grace
as Bartender
Lili Francks
as Mrs. Washington
Wayne Robson
as Bartender
Jack Riley
as Riley Quinn
Antony Holland
as Hollander
Michael Murphy
as Sears
Don Francks
as Buffalo
Linda Sorenson
as Blanche
Bert Remsen
as Bart Coyle
Claudine Melgrave
as Townsperson

Crew

Robert Altman
Director
Robert Altman
Producer
Mitchell Brower
Producer
David Foster
Producer
Brian McKay
Screenwriter
Edmund Naughton
Book Author
Robert Altman
Screenwriter
Vilmos Zsigmond
Cinematographer
Leonard Cohen
Composer (Music Score)
Lou Lombardo
Editor
Leon Ericksen
Production Designer
Philip Thomas
Art Director
Marcel Vercoutere
Special Effects
Tommy Thompson
First Assistant Director
Robert Jiras
Makeup
Lou Lombardo
Second Unit Director
Phyllis Newman
Makeup
Don Carmody
Production Assistant
Advertisement