Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Matinee Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P27679~John Goodman~johngoodman]]'s full-throttle performance as a [[Performer~P84457~William Castle~williamcastle]]-inspired schlockmeister propels [[Performer~P16940~Joe Dante~joedante]]'s delightful and charming comedy Matinee. The film takes place during the fall 1962 Cuban Missile Crisis, a time when America's innocence began to crumble. [[Performer~P27679~Goodman~johngoodman]] plays film producer Lawrence Woolsey, who is in Key West to premiere his latest horror epic, "Mant," the story of a man who turns into a giant insect ("Half Man! ... Half Ant! ... All Terror!"). He's busy rigging the local movie theater with all manner of gimmicks, such as Atomo-Vision and Rumble-Rama, and stationing a buxom nurse -- played by Woolsey's girlfriend and leading lady Ruth ([[Performer~P50679~Cathy Moriarty~cathymoriarty]]) -- in the lobby to assist potential heart attack victims. Amidst all the hubbub, a quartet of local teenagers gear up for the big premiere: Gene ([[Feature~V167535~Simon Fenton~simone]]), a Navy brat whose father is on alert for the duration of the crisis; Stan ([[Performer~P37079~Omri Katz~omrikatz]]), Gene's friend who has a furious crush on Sherry ([[Performer~P45985~Kellie Martin~kelliemartin]]); and Sandra ([[Performer~P35027~Lisa Jakub~lisajakub]]), the daughter of two beatnik free-thinkers. As the premiere of "Mant" gets closer and Soviet-U.S. tensions increase, the four teenagers' problems and desires also mount to the boiling point. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:January 29, 1993

Cast

John Goodman
as Lawrence Woolsey
Cathy Moriarty
as Ruth Corday/Carol
Simon Fenton
as Gene Loomis
Omri Katz
as Stan
Lisa Jakub
as Sandra
Kellie Martin
as Sherry
Jesse Lee
as Dennis Loomis
Lucinda Jenney
as Anne Loomis
James Villemaire
as Harvey Starkweather
Robert Picardo
as Howard, the Theater Manager
Jesse White
as Mr. Spector
John Sayles
as Bob
David Clennon
as Jack
Lucy Butler
as Rhonda
Mark McCracken
as Bill/Mant
William Schallert
as Doctor
Robert Cornthwaite
as Scientist
Kevin McCarthy
as General
Archie Hahn III
as "Shopping Cart" Star
Allison McKay
as Teacher
Jesse Zeigler
as Kid in Line
Marc Macaulay
as "Shopping Cart" Crook
Dick Miller
as Herb
Elizabeth Dimon
as Theater Cashier
Steve Zurk
as Cop
Danny Haneman
as Man Outside Theater
Jeff Breslauer
as Movie Theater Actor
Chris Stacy
as Gas Station Attendant
Simone Reynolds
Brett Rice
as Genes Dad
Glenda Chism
as Teacher
Kurt Smildsin
as Mob Actor
Belinda Balaski
as Stan's Mom
Charles Haas
as Mr.Elroy
Gretchen Rennell
Naomi Watts
as "Shopping Cart" Starlet
George Carson
as Stan's Friend
Ike Pappas
as Newscaster
Georgie Cranford
as Dwight
Shane Obedzinski
as Bleeding Kid

Crew

Joe Dante
Director
Michael Finnell
Producer
Charles Haas
Screen Story
Charles Haas
Screenwriter
John Hora
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Marshall Harvey
Editor
Pat Kehoe
Production Designer
Nanci B. Roberts
Art Director
Pat Kehoe
Co-producer
Stephen Alesch
Set Designer
Isis Mussenden
Costume Designer
Jeff Smolek
Stunts
Warren Hamilton
Sound Editor
Advertisement