Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Mata Hari Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

"So much for Carlotta" muses the head of German Espionage ([[Performer~P68484~Lewis Stone~lewisstone]]), shortly after secret agent [[Performer~P50727~Karen Morley~karenmorley]] is put to death. Morley's successor is exotic dancer Mata Hari ([[Performer~P25821~Greta Garbo~gretagarbo]]), an enigmatic woman of Javanese-Dutch ancestry who seldom thinks twice about luring some poor swain to his doom. Assigned to intercept allied war messages, Mata Hari romances garrolous-general [[Performer~P4295~Lionel Barrymore~lionelbarrymore]]. She falls in love for the first and only time in her life when she meets dazzlingly handsome lieutenant [[Performer~P51981~Ramon Novarro~ramonnovarro]]. Barrymore finds out about the affair and threatens to expose both Mata and Novarro as spies, whereupon Ms. Hari shoots Barrymore dead. She arranges for Novarro to leave the country lest he be implicated in the murder. He is subsequently blinded in an airplane crash, setting the stage for Garbo's now-famous "Let me be your eyes" scene. Mata Hari is tried and sentenced to death, but is permitted a few final precious moments with Novarro, allowing him to go on believing that he is in a military hospital rather than a prison cell, and that his beloved is dying of a mysterious ailment rather than facing a firing squad. The debate still rages among film buffs as to whether Greta Garbo does her own dancing in Mata Hari, or whether that's her double in the long shots. There is no question, however, that the condemned prisoner in the first reel who refuses to betray Mata to his captors is none other than [[Performer~P2817~Mischa Auer~mischaauer]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Greta Garbo
as Mata Hari
Ramon Novarro
as Lt. Alexis Rosanoff
Lionel Barrymore
as Gen. Serge Shubin
Lewis Stone
as Andriani
Karen Morley
as Carlotta
Alec B. Francis
as Maj. Caron
Blanche Frederici
as Sister Angelica
Edmund Breese
as Warden
Helen Jerome Eddy
as Sister Genevieve
Frank Reicher
as The Cook-Spy
Frederick Burton
Cecil Cunningham
as Gambler
Mischa Auer
as Condemned Man
Harry Cording
as Ivan
Michael Visaroff
as Orderly
Reginald Barlow
Sarah Padden
as Sister Theresa

Crew

George Fitzmaurice
Director
George Fitzmaurice
Producer
Irving G. Thalberg
Producer
Doris Anderson
Screenwriter
Gilbert Emery
Screenwriter
Leo Birinsky
Screenwriter
Benjamin Glazer
Screenwriter
William H. Daniels
Cinematographer
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Adrian
Costume Designer
Advertisement