Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Masked and Anonymous Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Enigmatic rock legend [[Performer~P88557~Bob Dylan~bobdylan]] stars as an enigmatic rock legend (talk about a casting coup!) in this purposefully eccentric satiric comedy. Uncle Sweetheart ([[Performer~P27679~John Goodman~johngoodman]]) is an unscrupulous concert promoter who has figured out a way to cash in on the feelings of doubt and uncertainty that plague his nation, which is being torn apart by civil war and political revolution. Sweetheart has decided he will stage a massive benefit concert, though the unnamed charity would appear to be his checking account. Sweetheart hires television producer Nina Veronica ([[Performer~P40447~Jessica Lange~jessicalange]]) to help promote the show and sell it as a nation-wide cable-cast event, while Sweetheart pulls a few strings to arrange for the perfect headliner -- Jack Fate ([[Performer~P88557~Bob Dylan~bobdylan]]), a legendary songwriter who is currently serving a term in prison. With Fate out from behind bars, Sweetheart and Veronica set out to sell their grand spectacle to the world, though one determined investigative journalist ([[Performer~P3197~Jeff Bridges~jeffbridges]]) has set out to throw a spenner into the works of Uncle Sweetheart and his epic fundraiser. Marking the directorial debut of comedy writer [[Performer~P266743~Larry Charles~larrycharles]], Masked and Anonymous also features [[Performer~P186999~Penelope Cruz~penélopecruz]] and [[Performer~P200995~Luke Wilson~lukewilson]]; the film was shown in competition at the 2003 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 24, 2003

Crew

Larry Charles
Director
Jeff Rosen
Producer
Nigel Sinclair
Producer
Sergei Petrov
Screenwriter
Rene Fontaine
Screenwriter
Rogier Stoffers
Cinematographer
Bob Dylan
Composer (Music Score)
Luis Alvarez y Alvarez
Editor
Pietro Scalia
Editor
Bob Ziembicki
Production Designer
Kristan Andrews
Art Director
Niklai Makarov
Co-producer
Guy East
Executive Producer
Pietro Scalia
Executive Producer
Joseph Newton Cohen
Executive Producer
Vladimir Dostal
Executive Producer
Anatoly Fradis
Executive Producer
Marie Cantin
Executive Producer
David M. Thompson
Executive Producer
Robert Kensinger
Set Designer
Abigail Murray
Costume Designer
Leslie Shatz
Sound/Sound Designer
Susumu Tokunow
Sound/Sound Designer
Michael Zimbrich
First Assistant Director
Liberman/Patton Casting
Casting
Irene Cagen
Casting
Advertisement