Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Marshal of Amarillo Details


In a season that also saw him as The Denver Kid (1948) and The Sheriff of Wichita, Republic's Allan Lane, still carrying the nickname of "Rocky," became marshal of the title's rough-and-tumble Texas location. Marshal Lane comes to the aid of a group of stagecoach passengers stranded at the spooky Halfway House after driver Ben Dolan (Roy Barcroft crashed the stage in an attempt to outrun a masked gunman. Prospector Nugget Clark (Eddy Waller) realizes that the Halfway House may not be your average hostelry when the night clerk (Denver Pyle) keeps up a lengthy conversation with a non-existent porter named George. After discovering the body of fellow passenger Hiram Short (Charles Williams), Marshal Lane and Nugget become even more mystified when the manager of the place, Welsh (Trevor Bardette), announces that he employs no night clerk and that the only guest in residence is cranky Mrs. Pettigrew (Minerva Urecal). Yet another stranded passenger, Underwood (Tom Chatterton), has vanished into thin air, his room now used for storage. Dolan, the stage driver, also meets with sudden death and the missing Underwood's pretty daughter Marjorie (Mildred Coles) informs Lane that her father was carrying $50,000 on his person, money earmarked for buying a ranch. Arriving to the inn late at night, Marjorie is also served by the spooky night clerk, who offers to take her to see her father. The plot thickens and Marshal Lane realizes that Underwood has been kidnapped for his money. After all the mysterious goings-on have been unmakes as fake, the murder/kidnapper is caught in a dramatic chase between stagecoaches, a chase that ends in a raging river. ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi


Allan Lane
as Himself
Eddy Waller
as Nugget Clark
Clayton Moore
as Art Crandall
Roy Barcroft
as Ben
Trevor Bardette
as Frank Welch
Minerva Urecal
as Mrs. Pettigrew
Denver Pyle
as Night Clerk
Tom Chatterton
as James Underwood
Tom London
as Mr. Snodgrass


John MacBurnie
Morton Scott
Composer (Music Score)
Morton Scott
Musical Direction/Supervision
Frank Arrigo
Art Director
John McCarthy
Set Designer
Theodore Lydecker
Special Effects
Howard Lydecker
Special Effects
Bob Mark