Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Mark of Zorro Details


Johnston MacCulley's 1913 adventure yarn [[Feature~V148212~The Curse of Capistrano~lasorelladiursula]] was given its first filmization in [[Performer~P22505~Douglas Fairbanks'~douglasfairbanks]] 1920 The Mark of Zorro. Fairbanks plays the outwardly foppish Don Diego de la Vega, the son of wealthy Spanish Californian rancher. In reality, Don Diego is the dashed masked-and-caped Zorro, who wages a one-man war to rescue his fellow citizens from the tyranny Captain Juan Ramon ([[Performer~P47747~Robert McKim~robertmckim]]). The lovely Lolita (Marguerite de la Motte) despises the namby-pamby Don Diego, but loves the devil-may-care Zorro, never dreaming (until the end, of course) that the two men are one. In turn, Lolita is loved by Captain Ramon, who is as ruthless in his domestic dealings as he is in his political weight-throwing. Noah Beery Sr. plays Sgt. Garcia, a buffoonish minion of Ramon's who eventually casts his lot with Zorro--after being bested time and again by the hero's swordplay. Best scene: Zorro insouciantly challenging Ramon's soldiers to capture him while he wines and dines at a local cantina. At the time he made Mark of Zorro, Fairbanks was best known for his peppy contemporary comedies. He hoped that Zorro would be an interesting temporary change of pace for him, never dreaming that the film's popularity would lock him into the swashbuckling mode for the rest of the silent career. In 1925, Fairbanks starred in a sequel, [[Feature~V14294~Don Q, Son of Zorro;~donqsonofzorro]] the original film has, of course, been remade many times since 1920. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Douglas Fairbanks
as Don Diego Vega/Zorro
Noah Beery, Jr.
Charles Belcher
Milton Berle
George Periolat
as Gov. Alvarado
Charles Stevens
as Peon
Robert McKim
as Capt. Juan Ramon
Noah Beery, Sr.
as Sgt. Pedro Gonzalez
Claire McDowell
as Dona Catalina, his wife
Walt Whitman
as Father Felipe
Charles Hill Mailes
as Don Carlos Pulido
Snitz Edwards
Marguerite de la Motte
as Lolita
Gilbert Clayton


Fred Niblo
Douglas Fairbanks
Douglas Fairbanks
Harry Thorpe
William McGann