Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Marcello Mastroianni: I Remember Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Rarely has any actor, and especially one with a filmography as rich as that of [[Performer~P46339~Marcello Mastroianni~marcellomastroianni]] (1923-1996), been given such a lavish screen biography. But then, director [[Performer~P167437~Anna Maria Tató~annamariatato]] was [[Performer~P46339~Mastroianni~marcellomastroianni]]'s companion for the last 22 years of his life, and she clearly saw this film, made for Italian television, as a labor of love. [[Performer~P46339~Mastroianni~marcellomastroianni]] is filmed speaking to the camera in a variety of settings, usually outdoors in picturesque settings, and dozens of film clips enhance his memories of a long career in films. He touches on his love for the stage; his relationships with director [[Performer~P87213~Vittorio De Sica~vittoriodesica]], [[Performer~P89547~Federico Fellini~federicofellini]], [[Performer~P115512~Luchino Visconti~luchinovisconti]], and [[Performer~P89652~Marco Ferreri~marcoferreri]]; his disdain for the moniker "Latin Lover" that got attached to him after the success of his breakthrough film, [[Feature~V27906~La Dolce Vita~ladolcevita]]; his appreciation for his favorite cities: New York City, Paris, Rome, and above all, Naples; and his thoughts on acting. Among the films generously excerpted are [[Feature~V105083~The Organizer~icompagni]], [[Feature~V54322~White Nights~whitenights]], [[Feature~V133491~I Don't Want to Talk About It~deesonosehabla]], [[Feature~V84740~Bell' Antonio~bellantonio]], [[Feature~V14076~Divorce Italian Style~divorceitalianstyle]], [[Feature~V12245~Dark Eyes~darkeyes]], [[Feature~V45971~A Special Day~unagiornataparticolare]], [[Feature~V27906~La Dolce Vita~ladolcevita]], [[Feature~V318~8 1/2~812]], [[Feature~V201897~Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow~eojeoneulkeurigonaeil]], [[Feature~V65186~La Nuit de Varennes~lanuitdevarennes]], [[Feature~V22151~Henry IV~henryivparti]], [[Feature~V98246~La Grande Bouffe~lagrandebouffe]], [[Feature~V123331~Bye Bye Monkey~byebyemonkey]], [[Feature~V25126~Intervista~intervista]], and [[Feature~V28~The Tenth Victim~the10thvictim]]. In the film's penultimate scene, [[Performer~P46339~Mastroianni~marcellomastroianni]] is shown celebrating his 72nd birthday, only a year before his death. The film is also available in a 98-minute version. ~ Tom Wiener, Rovi

  • Release date:August 13, 1999

Crew

Anna Maria Tato
Director
Giuseppe Rotunno
Cinematographer
Armando Trovajoli
Composer (Music Score)
Anna Maria Tato
Editor
Mario Di Biase
Executive Producer
Advertisement

Other movies like this