Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Man on the Moon Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Comedian [[Performer~P37092~Andy Kaufman~andykaufman]] gave performances that were bizarre and difficult to categorize, in which he might do or say almost anything: show cartoons, impersonate [[Performer~P107032~Elvis Presley~elvispresley]], play conga drums while singing children's songs, read aloud from The Great Gatsby, or take the audience out for milk and cookies. Written by [[Performer~P79308~Scott Alexander~scottalexander]] and [[Performer~P96767~Larry Karaszewski~larrykaraszewski]] and directed by [[Performer~P90166~Milos Forman~milosforman]] (the team behind [[Feature~V154449~The People vs. Larry Flynt~thepeoplevslarryflynt]] (1996)), this biopic takes an in-depth look at Kaufman's life and art, with [[Performer~P11257~Jim Carrey~jimcarrey]] as Kaufman, who could (and would) be any number of different people onstage: the quiet and childlike man, the little foreign guy, the overbearing showbiz "professional," the violently obnoxious wrestler, or the world's worst lounge singer. As Kaufman rose from comedy clubs to guest appearances on [[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] and a spot on the TV sitcom Taxi, his performances became more complex and dangerous -- so much so that when word got out in 1984 that he was suffering from lung cancer, many fans and associates thought it was just another bizarre stunt; the disease took his life later that year. Man on the Moon features [[Performer~P214698~Danny De Vito~vitoyvida]] as Kaufman's manager George Shapiro, [[Performer~P43419~Courtney Love~courtneylove]] as his girlfriend Lynne Margulies, [[Performer~P26680~Paul Giamatti~paulgiamatti]] as his friend Bob Zmuda, and [[Performer~P42030~David Letterman~davidletterman]], [[Performer~P32513~Judd Hirsch~juddhirsch]], [[Performer~P31778~Marilu Henner~mariluhenner]], [[Performer~P36788~Carol Kane~carolkane]], and [[Performer~P42805~Christopher Lloyd~christopherlloyd]] as themselves. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 20, 1999

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jim Carrey Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama 1999 Winner
Toronto Film Critics Association Jim Carrey Best Actor - Runner-up 1999 Winner
Screen Actors Guild Jim Carrey Best Actor 1999 Nominee
Berlin International Film Festival Milos Forman Silver Bear for Best Director 2000 Winner

Cast

Jim Carrey
as Andy Kaufman
Danny DeVito
as George Shapiro
Courtney Love
as Lynne Margulies
Paul Giamatti
as Bob Zmuda
Vincent Schiavelli
as Maynard Smith
Peter Bonerz
as Ed Weinberger
Gerry Becker
as Stanley Kaufman
Leslie Lyles
as Janice Kaufman
Carol Kane
as herself
Christopher Lloyd
as himself
David Letterman
as himself
Jeff Conaway
as himself
Judd Hirsch
as himself
Marilu Henner
as herself
Lorne Michaels
as himself
Norm MacDonald
as Michael Richards
Mary Lynn Rajskub
as Friday's Mary
Fred Scialla
as Stand-In (Danny DeVito)
Christina Cabot
as Meditation Student
George Shapiro
as Club Owner

Crew

Milos Forman
Director
Michael Shamberg
Producer
Stacey Sher
Producer
Danny DeVito
Producer
Scott Alexander
Screenwriter
Larry Karaszewski
Screenwriter
Anastas Michos
Cinematographer
Anita Camarata
Musical Direction/Supervision
R.E.M.
Songwriter
Lynzee Klingman
Editor
Christopher Tellefsen
Editor
Patrizia Von Brandenstein
Production Designer
Raymond Kluga
Art Director
James F. Truesdale
Art Director
Scott Ferguson
Associate Producer
Pamela Abdy
Associate Producer
Howard West
Executive Producer
Michael Hausman
Executive Producer
Bob Zmuda
Executive Producer
George Shapiro
Executive Producer
Maria Nay
Set Designer
Karin Wiesel
Set Designer
Jeffrey Kurland
Costume Designer
David McGiffert
First Assistant Director
Francine Maisler
Casting
Kathleen Driscoll-Mohler
Casting
Ron Bochar
Sound Editor
Advertisement