Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Mandingo Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P89964~Richard Fleischer~richardfleischer]] directed this lurid historical drama based on the novel by Kyle Onstott. The story begins on a run-down plantation lorded over by Warren Maxwell ([[Performer~P227844~James Mason~jamesmason]]) and his son Hammond ([[Performer~P38342~Perry King~perryking]]). Hammond travels to New Orleans where he buys a top-of-the-line slave, Mede ([[Performer~P53076~Ken Norton~kennorton]]), at an auction. Hammond is proud of his purchase, hoping to bring in money by training Mede to fight his other slaves. Hammond returns with Mede to the plantation, where he has to contend with his sex-crazed wife Blanche ([[Performer~P26481~Susan George~susangeorge]]). Hammond looks upon Blanche as damaged goods since he discovered her to not be a virgin on their wedding night. Instead, Hammond prefers erotic pursuits with his slave Ellen ([[Performer~P69431~Brenda Sykes~brendasykes]]). Blanche licks her lips at the sight of Mede, and seduces him to get revenge on her husband. Blanche soon becomes pregnant and gives birth to a half-black baby. Enraged, Hammond comes after Blanche, poisons her, and then the child bleed to death before going after Mede. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

James Mason
as Maxwell
Susan George
as Blanche
Brenda Sykes
as Ellen
Roy Poole
as Doc Redfield
Ji-Tu Cumbuka
as Cicero
Paul Benedict
as Brownlee
Ben Masters
as Charles
John A. Barber
as Le Toscan
Perry King
as Hammond Maxwell
Earl Maynard
as Babouin
Irene Tedrow
as Mrs. Redfield
Louis Turenne
as De Veve
Beatrice Winde
as Lucy
Duane Allen
as Topaz
Debbi Morgan
as Dite
Simon McQueen
as Madame Caroline
Ray Spruell
as Wallace
Stocker Fontelieu
as Wilson

Crew

Richard Fleischer
Director
Dino de Laurentiis
Producer
Jack Kirkland
Play Author
Kyle Onstott
Book Author
Norman Wexler
Screenwriter
Maurice Jarre
Composer (Music Score)
Boris Leven
Production Designer
Ralph Serpe
Executive Producer
John P. Austin
Set Designer
Ann Roth
Costume Designer
Peter V. Herald
Production Manager
Advertisement