Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Man in the Gray Flannel Suit Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This meticulous and unusually long cinemadaptation of Sloan Wilson's best-selling novel The Man in the Grey Flannel Suit stars [[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]] as an ex-army officer, pursuing a living as a TV writer in the postwar years. Hired by a major broadcasting network, Peck is assigned to write speeches for the network's president ([[Performer~P45310~Fredric March~fredricmarch]]). Peck comes to realize that the president's success has come at the expense of personal happiness, and this leads Peck to ruminate on his own life. Extended flashbacks reveal that Peck had experienced a torrid wartime romance with Italian girl [[Performer~P55534~Marisa Pavan~marisapavan]], a union that produced a child. Peck is torn between his responsibility to his illegitimate son and his current obligations towards his wife ([[Performer~P36139~Jennifer Jones~jenniferjones]]), his children, and his employer. Among the many life-altering decisions made by Peck before the fade-out is his determination to seek out a job that will allow him to spend more time with his family, even if it means a severe cut in salary. The superb hand-picked supporting cast of The Man in the Grey Flannel Suit includes [[Performer~P30337~Ann Harding~annharding]] as March's wife, [[Performer~P77747~Keenan Wynn~keenanwynn]] as the man who informs Peck that he'd fathered an Italian child, [[Performer~P16850~Henry Daniell~henrydaniell]] as a detached executive, and an unbilled [[Performer~P37451~DeForrest Kelley~deforestkelley]] as an army medic (who gets to say "He's dead, captain"!) ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Directors Guild of America Nunnally Johnson Best Director 1956 Nominee

Cast

Gregory Peck
as Tom Rath
Jennifer Jones
as Betsy Rath
Fredric March
as Ralph Hopkins
Marisa Pavan
as Maria
Lee J. Cobb
as Judge Bernstein
Ann Harding
as Mrs. Hopkins
Keenan Wynn
as Caesar Gardella
Gene Lockhart
as Bill Hawthorne
Arthur O'Connell
as Walker
Henry Daniell
as Bill Ogden
Joseph Sweeney
as Edward Schultz
Sandy Descher
as Barbara
Mickey Maga
as Pete
Kenneth Tobey
as Mahoney
Ruth Clifford
as Florence
Geraldine Wall
as Miriam
Frank Wilcox
as Dr. Pearce
Nan Martin
as Miss Lawrence
Leon Alton
as Cliff
Phyllis Graffeo
as Gina
Dorothy Adams
as Mrs. Hopkins' Maid
Mary Benoit
as Secretary
King Lockwood
as Business Executive
Lomax Study
as Elevator Operator
Renata Vanni
as Italian Farm Wife
Mario Siletti
as Carriage Driver
Lee Graham
as Crew Chief
Michael Jeffrey
as Mr. Sims
DeForest Kelley
as Bit
Gigi Perreau
as Susan Hopkins
Raymond Winston
Otto Reichow
Tristram Coffin
as Byron Holgate
Paul Glass
Harry Lauter
Jim Brandt
Robert Boon
as German Soldier
Connie Gilchrist
as Mrs. Manter
William "Bill" Phillips
as Bugala
John Crawford
as Italian Boy

Crew

Nunnally Johnson
Director
Darryl F. Zanuck
Producer
Nunnally Johnson
Screenwriter
Charles G. Clarke
Cinematographer
Bernard Herrmann
Composer (Music Score)
Dorothy Spencer
Editor
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Lyle Wheeler
Art Director
Walter Scott
Set Designer
Charles LeMaire
Costume Designer
Alfred Bruzlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement