Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Man from Rainbow Valley Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In this his second starring Western, Republic Pictures' laconic singing cowboy [[Performer~P29683~Monte Hale~montehale]] played, of all things, a cartoonist. Hale's popular strip -- "The Adventures of Outlaw, King of Stallions" -- is based on his own observations of a herd of wild horses. Learning that Outlaw is not merely a figment of a cartoonist's imagination, rodeo rider Kay North ([[Performer~P7373~Adrian Booth~adrianbooth]]) arrives in Rainbow Valley hoping to capture the animal. Using subterfuge, the girl gains the trust of Monte and his kid sister Clarabelle ([[Performer~P4371~Jean Barton~joanbarton]]) while an associate ([[Performer~P26270~Bud Geary~budgeary]]) kidnaps Outlaw. Monte and Clarabelle use the comic strip to alert the world of the horse's disappearance, and later Hale's sidekick, Locoweed Larson ([[Performer~P43982~Emmett Lynn~emmettlynn]]), spots a rodeo horse looking suspiciously like Outlaw. With the news that Outlaw's absence has caused several mares to be killed by wildcats, a repentant Kay returns the animal to the wilderness. In between saving wild stallions, Hale performs Ridin' Down the Trail, by [[Performer~P207547~Eddie Cherkose~eddiecherkose]] and [[Performer~P89690~Cy Feuer~cyfeuer]], The Man in the Moon Is a Cowhand, by [[Performer~P61128~Roy Rogers~royrogers]], and Ghost Town Jamboree, by [[Performer~P112291~Glen Spencer~glenspencer]]. Formerly known as [[Performer~P28374~Lorna Gray~lornagray]], leading lady [[Performer~P7373~Adrian Booth~adrianbooth]] would appear in eight Westerns opposite [[Performer~P29683~Monte Hale~montehale]]. Like Home on the Range, Hale's starring debut, Man from Rainbow Valley was released by Republic in the company's own color system, Magnacolor (later known as Trucolor). ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

Monte Hale
as Monte
Adrian Booth
as Kay North
Ferris Taylor
as Col. Winthrop
Emmett Lynn
as Locoweed
Tom London
as Healey
Bud Geary
as Tracy
Kenne Duncan
as Lafe
Doye O'Dell
as Jim
Bert Roach
as Mayor

Crew

R. G. Springsteen
Director
Louis Gray
Producer
Betty Burbridge
Screenwriter
Bud Thackery
Cinematographer
Hilyard M. Brown
Art Director
Advertisement